Skip to content

Hello From Jill’s Family

May 24, 2011

Hi all. This is Debbie. I thought it was about time I came back to the blog and updated everyone. It’s been nearly six months since Jill went to heaven. I think I can speak for the rest of my family when I say we still all miss her terribly. There are many little things that remind me of Jill. For example, the other day I received a crazy e-mail at work. I’m the facilities manager for one of the Boeing sites, so hardly a day goes by when I don’t receive some sort of complaint via e-mail. This one said, “One of my co-workers reported that he saw a naked man running around the parking garage. He was not wearing a badge.” After I stopped laughing, I started to send Jill an e-mail – she could always be counted on for a smart remark or two. I was halfway through my e-mail before I realized she wouldn’t be receiving that e-mail anytime soon. Disappointing. But then, I remembered that Jill is probably chuckling in heaven AND that she has a lot of friends and family members that can also be counted on for smart remarks – a little bit of Jill lives on in all of us. Here’s your opportunity.

A quick update on family members:
Hank and Daniel are doing well. Jill did a good job of making sure they would be provided for. Daniel took a trip to Paris with his school French class in April. He had a great time. He took a lot of photos which I look forward to seeing someday.

Kim and Bill are getting ready for a couple of weddings this summer – Bill’s son Jared and his fiance Angela and Kim’s son Ben and his fiance, Misa.

Mark and girlfirend Kim are still doing lots of dog shows. They have one new set up puppies and I think another on the way. You can see cute photos at the Samhain Cardigan link on the blog.

Scott and Bev are also doing well. They spend a lot of time helping my mom – they are wonderful people!

My mom has a new beau – Bill. This is still new to us, but he seems like a really nice guy, so we’ll see where this goes.

Brad and I will be grandparents in early July (yikes!). Brad is super excited – he’s on his way down to LA right now to visit Kara and Jay before the big event.

I’ve also been busy directing a play (See How They Run, a British farce by Phillip King). One more weekend or performances and then I’m finished. It’s very funny and we’ve had great audiences. I’m attaching a poster here with all the info. (Sorry for the shameless advertising). If you live in the Seattle area – please come. You’ll enjoy it.

A couple of other things. I did figure out how to change Jill’s name to my name on this blog. I was hoping that it would change all posts going forward. Sadly – it changed ALL the posts to my name. That just was not right – so you will continue to see Jill’s name. Kim figured out how to change the Pay Pal button, but that still has not yet been done.

That’s all for now. Thanks again for all of your prayers and encouragement. It’s meant a lot to all of us to see how many faithful friends Jill had!

Debbie

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2011 9:34 pm

    How fun to get things going again on the blog! Thanks my sister!

  2. May 24, 2011 9:42 pm

    Thanks for the glimpse into how everyone is doing.. . and you are SO right, Jill’s smart remark to the nude guy without a badge would be priceless!

  3. Jennifer permalink
    May 24, 2011 10:10 pm

    I was delighted to see “Jill’s Blah Blah Blog” in my inbox. Thank you for the update on all the family happenings, Deb…and work sightings including the badged boy in the buff. Laughter truly IS good medicine. Jill had us all in stitches from her amazing perspective on life’s everyday happenings. Such a great legacy!

    We will be at See How They Run on Saturday with the Klinkers! See you there!!

    Jen

    • Debbie permalink*
      May 25, 2011 7:27 am

      Tell the Klinkers to be there early. This weekend is going to be crowded.

    • Jennifer permalink
      May 25, 2011 3:45 pm

      Oh dear…It was late when I posted. Correction: The badged boy in the buff really should be the BADGELESS, boy in the buff. He really didn’t have a badge on. Sorry for the confusion. 🙂

      Thank you for the “tip”, Deb. We will be sure to arrive early! Jill will be sittin’ right next to us in spirit…in stitches (NOT in her birthday suit!).

  4. Sarahtee permalink
    May 24, 2011 11:17 pm

    Thanks Debbie for the update – it’s good to know how things are going. Everyone is still in my thoughts.

    Sarah in Aus

  5. Barbara Austin permalink
    May 25, 2011 8:10 am

    I love to see “Jill’s” Blog still going..makes me smile. Thanks Debbie

  6. Ellen permalink
    May 25, 2011 9:22 am

    Thank you so much for your update, Deb!!!! I have felt a little lost since, well, you know. And I missed the connection to Jill’s wonderful family!

    Deb, I wouldn’t be the least bit surprised that the guy running around naked without a badge had something to do with a certain divine intervention. Yep. That’s something she’d do. Defintely a “Jill Moment” (similar to an aha moment). She continues to connect through humour and signs.

    I’m so happy that you are all doing well, even though you are way too young to be grandparents! Congratulations!

    How wonderful that your Mom has found companionship! I’m sure he will be under the watchful eye of her children on earth and above, until he gets the total family thumbs up.

    The news that Hank and Daniel are doing well, is the best of all.

    May you all continue to live your lives to the fullest and enjoy all the good things life has to offer.

    Looking forward to more updates.

    Best wishes
    Ellen from Ontario, Canada

  7. Penny permalink
    May 26, 2011 3:49 pm

    Thank you for the update. I think about Jill often.

  8. May 27, 2011 11:43 am

    You can go light a candle for Jill any time at her memorial site http://jill-byington.memory-of.com/. 🙂

Leave a comment