Skip to content

Hear some of Jill’s Stories read on Internet Radio Today

December 9, 2010

Debbie again. Jill’s other sister Kim, just sent me the following e-mail:

“Cynthia Brian is going to read both of Jill’s stories that she wrote for the “Be the Star You Are for Teens” book, this afternoon at 3:00 p.m. Pacific. This is the link to the show — it’s an internet radio show: http://www.voiceamerica.com/worldtalkradio/vshow.aspx?sid=764

The shows are kept in archives as well, so if anyone misses it, they can go back and listen again, and they can save the interview on their computer to keep it even after the archives are purged.”

You can read more about Cynthia here, Kim does her website.

Enjoy

Debbie

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara Austin permalink
    December 9, 2010 12:56 pm

    Thank you so much Debbie

  2. December 9, 2010 1:26 pm

    Thanks for posting that for me, Debbie. And thanks to Cynthia for suggesting this.
    xoxo
    Kim

    • Ellen permalink
      December 9, 2010 2:16 pm

      Oh wow! Thanks so much for letting us know!!!!

      Over at the Mom’s forum where we first met Jill, we are having “What do you love most about Jill.” Well! I can tell you that Jill was not only very much loved she is highly thought of. We are crying and laughing (at Jills humourous twist on life) and marvelling at her brilliance and incredible writing abilities.

      Maybe I can copy some of what the Mom’s are saying and post them for you?

      KIM (hugs to you)

      Jill told me how wonderful her sisters are, (her whole family) and I see that she was absolutely right.

      I hope that your Mom is holding up okay, I can’t stop thinking about her. As a Mom myself, I can’t imagine her pain of loosing a child. And as a sister, loosing a sibling. It’s hard as it is loosing a dear friend.

      Ellen

      • December 9, 2010 2:22 pm

        This is Debbie. I’ll keep showing up as Jill since I’m using her password. I would love to see some of the posts and I’m sure the rest of the family would as well. Maybe we need to devote an entire blog to what everyone loved most about Jill.

        • Ellen permalink
          December 9, 2010 2:36 pm

          Oh! That’s a great idea, Debbie! I’ll let the FAM’s know!

        • December 9, 2010 2:54 pm

          I nearly jumped out of my skin when I saw “Jill” as I scrolled down!

        • Ellen permalink
          December 9, 2010 4:26 pm

          Me too, Kim! Leave it to Jill to get the last laugh in. 🙂

  3. December 9, 2010 2:53 pm

    Cynthia also wants me to create an In Memoriam web page for Jill to post on her charity site http://www.BeTheStarYouAre.org. I will work on that right away. Be the Star You Are is a non-profit that helps women, families and youth at risk through positive media. I’ll let everyone know when the page is up and where to find it. And I’ll take suggestions for things to add. Your memories, your photos, whatever you like. I’m sure they get the Internet in Heaven. 🙂
    You’re all blessings from Jill’s life that I’m happy we’ve been able to share.
    Kim

    • Ellen permalink
      December 9, 2010 4:38 pm

      What a lovely tribute to Jill.

      This is exactly what she would want.

      And she goes on touching lives. 🙂

      • December 9, 2010 6:26 pm

        Ellen, (and everyone) How nearby are you? Can we have a way to meet all of Jill’s friends? You might like to touch her sisters and brothers, and we’d all love to tough all of you.
        Blessings and hugs,
        Kim

        • December 9, 2010 6:27 pm

          Touch, not tough. Fat fingers again.

        • Ellen permalink
          December 9, 2010 7:40 pm

          There would be nothing I love more than to meet Jill’s family. I live in Ontario, Canada, so that would be difficult 😦 A couple of other ladies who posted on Jills blog quite regularly (Sarah and Beck) are in Australia, Jill was world renown! 🙂
          But most live in the USA. I’ll tell everyone to keep reading this blog, hopefully we can offer support and caring “eyes” as you travel along this painful journey.

  4. December 9, 2010 7:00 pm

    Debbie, will you start a new topic so this doesn’t get lost in the shuffle? I started a web page for Jill with a few photos. It has a place on the web hosted by Cynthia Brian for however long. I have my own host I can put it on as well. Our brother Mark sent me the two with Jill in the red shirt from 2006. The rest are from our sister trip in 2007 — the first of our 4 trips. I need to go through a lot more photos. And I’ll make space for your contributions and photos. This is just a place holder for now, and a way for you all to just have a look again and beautiful Jill with her happy smile, button nose, and deep eyes.
    Oh holy cow, let me add more right now. I forgot to tell you all that Jill sent me a rainbow this morning! If those pictures don’t load right away, it’s because you’re reading this before I have uploaded them. Give me a minute. Love and hugs!
    Kim

    • Arzelie permalink
      December 9, 2010 8:30 pm

      Kim, we saw the most gorgeous rainbow on the drive into my daughter’s school today. I’m going to think that Jill was somewhere over Portland, Or. That makes me smile.

  5. December 9, 2010 7:22 pm

    I didn’t have a lot of energy this afternoon/evening. I did start a page for Jill. It has a few photos from our first “sister trip” in 2007. And Mark, brother #1, contributed two photos from his 4th of July celebration in 2006. They’re the ones where Jill is wearing red. I’m not sure whether it’s a camera thing or if Jill actually was wearing her hated pink in the other photos, but that aside, she was so pretty, wasn’t she?
    Stay posted as I get opportunities to add greatly to the page. I couldn’t listen to the radio show today as those things are blocked at work. I hope those of you who got to listen really enjoyed the readings of Jill’s works. I’m certain Cynthia will have done them justice.
    Hugs again,
    Kim

    • Ellen permalink
      December 9, 2010 7:43 pm

      Jill was beautiful, inside and out.

    • December 9, 2010 8:11 pm

      Did I not give the link? Well that’s not unusual. Happens to me all the time. Here’s a link to the start of a great web page:
      http://www.bethestaryouare.org/Jill.html
      Contribute as you’re able. Memories and photos and whatever. I’ve made the placeholder with a few pictures. We’ll go from there.
      Love
      Kim

      • Ellen permalink
        December 9, 2010 8:35 pm

        Oh, the page looks just great, Kim. It does look like she’s wearing pink, tho. Kind of ironic, isn’t it.

        I’m looking forward to seeing the rainbow.:-)

  6. E Lis permalink
    December 9, 2010 8:35 pm

    I think in a way we are having our own memorial (i.e. Mom’s group on-line). I did think, maybe for your family, you may want to see what we all have to say. I not only knew and met Jill on-line, but also use to spend time with our sons as I use to live in the Seattle area (my son is almost 15, so close in age to Daniel). I will never forget all she has given to my life. Never. Jill led me literally through the depths of darkness more than once, no matter what she had going on and Psalm 23 comes to mind.

    I remember so vividly my son and Daniel swimming, eating, playing and her and I girl chatting. Her compassion and her knowledge goes beyond anyone who I have ever known. Let’s also not forget her wit which matches mine, thus we had so many moments of laughter and tears. I also since getting to know her family know where she gets it from. I feel for each and every one of you, even more so as I have had a Dad in and out of cancer treatment for a few years now.

    In reality, I do not live so far away but have a real fear (phobia) of Seattle traffic. I’m over here in Eastern WA and it had been a bit since I saw Jill. Not so long though, after years of us having the boys play, etc. and we always stayed in touch. I will say though, if anyone wants to have a cup of coffee or wine and is passing through that you just need to e-mail me and we can talk about Jill in depth and laugh, cry or whatever is needed or wanted.

    I knew her on a very deep level for 14 years and have to stop sometimes today and yesterday to wipe away tears and appreciate the blessings. What Jill gave the world is more than most of us can ever hope for and is a true tribute to life and living.

    I can not totally conceptualize what you are all going through though as I know each person’s grief is personal. I respect that completely and hate to be trite.

    And may I add not only was Jill beautiful, but so is her family and friends as we all process and come to terms there is an immense love of life and Jill that is felt and a deep sense of loss for all (but, especially for her family members).

    Prayers and (((HUGS))). – Lisa

Leave a Reply

