Skip to content

Jill is Feeling Better

December 4, 2010

Debbie here again.  Jill’s difficulties earlier today mostly revolved around the pleural effusions continually filling up. I’m sure I don’t need to remind all of you that she now has bilateral PluerX catheters to help manage this problem. It wasn’t being managed until Hank showed up and insisted that the hospital staff get off their butts and do their jobs.

Apparently the PleurX is a technology that many of the nurses don’t know how to use. I got that information from Fred the nurse yesterday. I told Fred that I googled PleurX and immediately found a link with 5 pages of instructions on how to take care of it. He said that’s the same set of instructions the hospital staff  is using. I’m not sure if that’s good or bad – maybe just scary. I believe Hank was trained by the PA from the Pulmonologist’s office – I’m not sure why she didn’t make sure a nurse or two was trained as well.

I received the following text from Jill shortly after 7pm today  (she may have sent this earlier, my Blackberry sometimes has a delay in receiving text messages):

Doing well. Slept 6 hours. Vicodin & heating pad for pain. Will be zonked all day. Rt. lung filling. Long line of nurses want to learn procedure. Tired and will rest. Later today, or better tomorrow good for those who want to visit.

So, it sounds like there will soon be more than just Hank trained to use the PleurX and the hospital staff will do a better job helping to manage Jill’s breathing.  I’ll be away from the computer most of the day tomorrow. I’ll try to do an update on Monday morning. Who knows, Jill may feel well enough tomorrow to do one herself. The family is very grateful for your prayers. I would love to meet all of Jill’s great friends some day! Thanks!

Debbie

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2010 8:32 pm

    Will be there to visit Sunday! Love my sistahs!

  2. December 4, 2010 8:38 pm

    I am so glad she is getting some much needed rest!

  3. Murray permalink
    December 4, 2010 8:47 pm

    I wish we could visit! We’ll have to settle for sending her our prayers and good wishes from from Georgia and New Hampshire! I hope you can get some rest, too, Debbie.

    Maria

  4. Sarahtee permalink
    December 4, 2010 10:22 pm

    Thanks for the update Debbie – good to know Jill is feeling better 🙂

  5. E Lis permalink
    December 5, 2010 12:40 pm

    Thank you Debbie for the updates! I know Jill is amazing and can readily tell so are her family and friends – even the ones I haven’t met. Glad there was some comfort. Always praying ..

    – Lisa

  6. December 5, 2010 3:03 pm

    My heart, my prayers and my love are coming west on the express flight…..lifting you all up.

Leave a Reply

