Skip to content

A Rough Day and Night

December 2, 2010

This is Debbie again. Yesterday was tough. I didn’t get too much information from Jill, but I’ll share what I know.

They installed the first Pleur-X catheter in the left side yesterday and also put a filter over a blood clot in her left hip.

This was finally finished about 5:30 last evening. When she got back to her room she found out that had rearranged everything, so she couldn’t reach her computer to send an update. She could reach the phone, so I got a text message.

I just received an e-mail that said she had a rough night – various levels of panic attacks. She starts chemo today and will have the 2nd Pleur-X installed on the right side tomorrow.

Keep in mind, before any of these procedures take place she cannot have any meds or anything to eat for at least 6 hours prior. So everything that helps control the rapid heart rate and anxiety is off limits.

There is a lot of fear of the unknown. Jill, Kim (another sister) and I were all born with the Planning and Organizing gene, so not knowing what is going to happen from day to day is a bit frustrating.

One thing I do know for sure is that God has this all in His control. I know He’s listening to all the prayers and well wishes that are sent in Jill’s direction. He may not be answering in the way we like (or as fast as we like), but there are little victories on a daily basis. Please especially pray for Jill’s anxiety to be lifted and for God to give her an overwhelming peace and a sense of His presence.

Also, Jill will be changing rooms sometime today. So if you plan to visit, you’ll have to ask at the front desk for the room number.

Thank you all again. Jill has a wonderful group of friends!

1:10pm – a quick update from Debbie.

Jill just texted to say she just received a helpful demo about her Pleurx catheter. Here’s a picture I found on the internet – of course it could look completely different. I won’t see it until this afternoon. 8:30 am tomorrow is the installation of the 2nd catheter on the right side.  Also chemo will start tomorrow instead of today.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Denny Wilson permalink
    December 2, 2010 11:24 am

    Hang in there Jill, better times are coming.

  2. Ellen permalink
    December 2, 2010 11:29 am

    Poor Jill! How uncomfortable she must be. Is pain meds off limits, too?

    Thanks for the update, Debbie. Looking forward to more victories.

    Prayers for all.

  3. Sarahtee permalink
    December 2, 2010 11:39 am

    Thank you Debbie for your updates.

    Jill, more prayers and much love,

    Sarah xxx

  4. December 2, 2010 12:20 pm

    Mom always said you don’t remember, or can’t remember pain. Which is it, Mom?
    Anyway, everything will be SO much better after this week is over. Everyone is in your corner! xoxoxoxo 🙂

  5. Babs permalink
    December 2, 2010 12:46 pm

    My prayer for Jill….

    Our dear Father, Jill needs you right now as does her family, friends and medical staff. Please help her anxiety levels, pain, and keeping her sense of humor.
    Thank you for hearing my plea.
    In Jesus Name
    Amen

    Babs

  6. Resa permalink
    December 2, 2010 12:49 pm

    The not knowing which Mack truck is coming for you next, is a problem I have as well. When I was pregnant with Luci and she was diagnosed with a sacrococcygeal teratoma in utero, not knowing what would happen next was a nightmare, particularly since I had already lost a baby to HLHS, my anxiety was in hyperdrive. The “wait and see game” was extremely frustrating and knowing the local docs here had never seen it, made me feel like a specimen more than a patient.

    So I guess this is where taking it a little a time comes in and preparing to deal with it as it comes. Bites big time, but no other way to do it. The drains WILL help you to feel better, as unsettling as it may be to have objects draining your body fluids, and they are an easy thing to deal with when it comes to those versus drugs that God only knows what the side effects of are. Side effect of a drain ( and I have in my mind the picture of the spigot as posted on an earlier entry)….bump it and it hurts, I ‘spose. Definite cause and effect with no guessing. That’s got to be a refreshing change.

    Thanks again Debbie with keeping us posted.

  7. Resa permalink
    December 2, 2010 12:55 pm

    Wow. I looked at your flag counter with this blog and doyou know that there are 7,326
    different computers where people have logged in to check out your blog? Jill, that’s incredible. There are that many places where probably even more people have looked in on you out of concern for your well being. And that doesn’t even count the people keeping track who have no computers, like little old ladies and people living off the grid.

    You’re giving so many people incredible insight and there is a concern for you worldwide. What a lovely thought.

  8. December 2, 2010 2:04 pm

    Thanks for the link, Deb. I never knew what the inside part looked like when I had my two drains after my last abdominal surgery. Interesting. I had the containers strapped to me, though, so this system looks so much better. Yay!

  9. mom permalink
    December 2, 2010 3:03 pm

    In Regards to remembering Pain, Kim, it is you cannot recall pain like that of giving birth pain. So it is no problem to get pregnant again. ( 19 and counting)?. I had 5 of you and you had 2 . Do you recall the labor pains? No. Some pain yes, but not all of it. Now on to pray for Jill and the rest of the family. And hope I can see Jill soon.
    Mom

  10. E Lis permalink
    December 2, 2010 3:09 pm

    I have always teased if we could literally feel the pain of child birth later that we would have less children in the world 😉 However, my almost 12 pound child born naturally did help me remember to only have one. I truly hope pain felt is forgotten or at least diminishes over time – including the psychological pain we all go through at times.

    Thank you for the update! I am praying for peace, hope and rest.

    With love – Lisa

  11. December 2, 2010 3:21 pm

    Praying you will continue to cast all your cares upon Him, for He cares for you. . .

  12. Murray permalink
    December 2, 2010 4:48 pm

    Thanks, Debbie. I just hope Jill can get some relief – both to the pain and to the anxiety. As you said, it is in His control, which is tough for those (myself included) with that Planning and Organizing gene. We’re praying for all of you.

    Maria

  13. December 2, 2010 7:19 pm

    Oh Jill! The thought of you being in pain and as a life long anxiety sufferer, the thought of you not being able to take a xanax or anything is so awful! So, I will take one for you tonight.. And we’ll get Bayou to take an ativan and Wheatie will take something too 😉

  14. Gina Agne permalink
    December 3, 2010 10:53 am

    Jill,

    “Anyone can give up, it’s the easiest thing in the world to do. But to hold it together when everyone else would understand if you fell apart, that’s true strength.”

    You have true strength. I am sending my prayers for this rough patch to end and for healing to begin.

    Gina

  15. Bemused Boomer permalink
    December 3, 2010 7:27 pm

    Prayers and blessings.

  16. December 4, 2010 4:30 am

    Thanks, Deb. Sitll dealsing badly wit room inconveniencres. Exaple: menu perched on shef 10 from phinbe to order food/ bear witth typos. table handy but takes muscle t9o raise adn 10 min recoveryt time. finallly have bedside c9ommode but tthey leaqve door open so have tto shut it firwsstl all very hard on heart. my goal is to keep heart rate down.

Leave a Reply

