Skip to content

One liter lighter

November 22, 2010

Alllll righty then! I am HOME. Hallelujah!!!

I got there at 1:30. Lots of cancellations due to snow, so the hospital got me in “quickly,” meaning by 3:30. No comment. Slow slow slow.

The procedure was painless. They drew out a liter of fluid. Yes, a liter. And guess what? There’s at least a liter or more left in there, but they’ll do only one liter at a time because otherwise your lung expands too quickly and it’s extremely painful. It’s possible the rest will re-absorb. Or maybe not. I will be in touch with the doctor either tomorrow or Wednesday (depending on weather, which is awful so they might be closed) and ask him if I just need to go back next week and get the next liter drawn out before it starts to bother me.

This is not going to happen again to this stage. The ER has been read the riot act about why they just didn’t draw off some fluid on Saturday night. Bozos. Big time bozos.

So, from this morning when I was breathing like I just ran a mile after walking just a few steps and having to be wheeled everywhere around the hospital, I am now up and about and feeling about 90% bettter.

Did you know that the light in your house is not actually tinged grey? I had forgotten that. When I got to the hospital my oxygen level was about 90%. They put my on oxygen right away and I started feeling better. My blood pressure was 151/100. Very bad. After the procedure I was breathing without extra oxygen at 100% and the blood pressure was down to 138/95. Mind you, I normally run 120/70 and that’s where I was only a week ago today when they checked my blood pressure at the doctor’s office. My lungs were also clear a week ago today. A week ago today is when I started the three days of cyberknife. I’m going to assume that might have triggered some sort of reaction. Who knows? It came on pretty quickly whatever it is.

No doubt there’s some sort of connection to the cancer in my lungs too. They’ll analyze the fluid they took out (God knows there’s enough of it to analyze) and they’ll get back to me. At this point I’m just prepared to hear all kinds of bad things from doctors, but God is bigger than doctors and now the light is not GREY and I can enjoy THANKGIVING with my family on Thursday. And I can keep tapering off these stoopid steroids. And I have lots of doctors on whom I can take out my righteous indignation. What more could a girl ask?

Oh, there’s one more thing a girl can TELL rather than ask. The snow really started getting horrible around the hospital. We have the Jeep and can go pretty much anywhere — but there’s all those dummies out there in their stupid little compacts with bald tires. Anyway, before we left we logged in to the online traffic report that has all the cameras and such and tells you which freeways are closed. We looked at our route and it was all “green.” The cameras showed people moving along. We thought, “Nah. That’s crazy. We can’t be traveling home on virtually the one and only clear route in the entire Puget Sound region.” But it was. There was ice and snow of course, but we went 40 mph the whole way, nobody got off on our exit. No stupid little compacts were spun out across the local roads. We pulled in to the garage. Said hello to Daniel, fed him dinner #3 (he’s 16….), and now we’re making brownies.

That, ladies and gentlemen, is a miracle from the hand of God if you’ve ever tried to drive in the Seattle area during rush our when even one flake of snow has fallen from the sky, so you truly have the ear of God and I thank you for your prayers.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. E Lis permalink
    November 22, 2010 6:55 pm

    I don’t know if it helps or not, but my Dad’s main complaint was lack of energy and inability to do anything due to breathing levels (they tested forever and never found anything diagnosable). Now, that I’ve had bronchitis for a month plus, I get part of it, but would not compare the two at all. I do know after two months of bronchitis that I could barely load 50 lb. sand bags into my car and cursing many things earlier. Goodness…

    Weather and holidays are enough. I’m glad you got in. I have much empathy and prayers for you and yours.

    Now if someone would make La Nina go away 😉 If only that was the most of anyone’s issues and I am thinking and praying for you all. I hope you feel better soon and you have much needed time with those you love.

    – Lisa

    • November 22, 2010 8:14 pm

      Oh dear. I am so sorry about that bronchitis. I have had a bout with it when it just wouldn’t go away. It is so incredibly awful. I hope you feel better soon.

      • E Lis permalink
        November 22, 2010 8:54 pm

        No.. bronchitis does not compare at all, except for that lack of energy and heavy chest feeling. I realized today though how out shape I’ve become again and was frustrated with me — one of my professors calls this ‘over functioning.’

        I’m glad you got in and good healing thoughts for you and yours!

  2. November 22, 2010 7:06 pm

    There and back again — that’s a great story. So happy you’re relieved and save all in the same day!!!!!!!!!!!

    • November 22, 2010 7:07 pm

      Safe – fat fingers – save was a typo.

    • November 22, 2010 8:17 pm

      As you know, getting through that way on the freeways is closely equivalent to the parting of the Red Sea. And I really don’t mean to minimize any of God’s miracles in that way. But … you know… the freeways…..

  3. mom permalink
    November 22, 2010 7:25 pm

    Oh, what relief it is! To your mom and you. 1 quart of water weighs in at 8 pounds my dear or is it one gallon?. You lost some weight as Kim did, different aspects. I had hoped you would feel relief and will sleep well tonight in peace. Love and hugs to you and continued prayer. See you Thursday. Mom.

    • November 22, 2010 8:13 pm

      One liter of water weighs one kilogram or 2.2 pounds. I hadn’t thought of it in those terms. They removed 2.2 pounds of pressure from my lung. There’s at least another kilo in there. Yikes. I’m so on to getting that removed ASAP. Will call the doctor and get it scheduled.

  4. Ellen permalink
    November 22, 2010 8:09 pm

    Woo hoo! That’s unreal about your unclogged route to the hospital! Wow!

    You will have a great Thanksgiving! I hope you are 200% by then!!

    Maybe you can finally get some good restful sleep.

    Ellen

    • November 22, 2010 8:15 pm

      Sleep. Yes. My little behind is so sore from having to sleep sitting up for night after night to avoid choking. It just wasn’t designed for that — not that it’s exactly “desginer” or anything.

  5. Murray permalink
    November 22, 2010 8:10 pm

    You definitely sound energized! I’m so glad the treatment helped – incredible how quickly, too. Enjoy your turkey and dressing. – Maria

    • November 22, 2010 8:16 pm

      You too! A blessed turkey day for the Murrays.

  6. heidi permalink
    November 22, 2010 8:46 pm

    Just reading about your day makes me “breathe” a little better as well! thats a lot of fluid and pressure off your lungs. Sleep well and deep tonight. I love you!

    • November 22, 2010 8:54 pm

      You too! Good to hear from you. Hope all is well in the great white north.

  7. Sarahtee permalink
    November 23, 2010 12:34 am

    So good to know you are breathing more easily, and everything went well getting there and back. I didn’t know lungs could contain that much fluid…

  8. Colleen Oates permalink
    November 23, 2010 6:56 pm

    Jill,
    I just love it when God answers prayers and it just helps to remind us that He cares and is with us every step of the way. Happy Thanksgiving! Love, Colleen and Ed

Leave a Reply

