Skip to content

Fun at the emergency room

November 21, 2010

So, I’ve been having a heck of a time breathing. Shortness of breath is one of the side effects of Decadron, so every doctor I’ve told has said “Oh.”

The trouble is that by yesterday I could barely get up our one flight of stairs in the house without panting like I’d just run a mile.

When I ran this by my Mom the nurse she said, “WHAT?!! Are those doctors nuts?” or something to that effect. And so I went yesterday to our local Urgent Care facility and they said, “Get ye to the emergency room,” which I did.

They ran tests for all kinds of things — pneumonia, blood clot in lung, etc. I prayed and asked for the best possible outcome and, after about 5 hours, the ER doctor came in and said, “Well, this is the best possible outcome.” As it turns out, I have a “moderate” sized pleural effusion (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pleural_effusion).

Mind you, I have a whole bunch of fluid pressing on my left lung and I am having a very hard time breathing. However, my oxygen levels are good and it is such that the emergency room doesn’t consider it an “emergent” condition in need of immediate treatment, and so I was sent back home — no wheelchair needed — to call my doctor on Monday to see what he wants to do about it. What he wants to do about it — and we will all be praying that this is what will happen — is to get me in to xray and then get them to put a needle in the thing and drain it for immediate relief. The other option is to just sit around and wait for it to reabsorb. Draining it is invasive, of course, and has some risks you can read about at the link above. Sorry, can’t get the link to be clickable today for some reason.

The effusion itself is likely caused by the cancer in my lungs. It didn’t look like pneumonia in the xray the did at the hospital, but that’s also a possible underlying cause.

So, prayers needed. I can’t lie down without feeling like I’m not getting enough air, so I need to sleep sitting up. Fun fun fun. The boys are spoiling me. I am trying not to do anything that makes me have to breathe heavily and irritate the lining of my lung. That involves nothing more than walking from the sofa to the bathroom.

Since this is a holiday week I really need you to pray that someone can fit me into his or her schedule somewhere very very soon. Like tomorrow. And that I can get through the night. And that this thing will stop growing today. Awful.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2010 10:22 am

    Praying. . .

  2. Murray permalink
    November 21, 2010 10:45 am

    We’re praying for you, Jill. – Maria

  3. heidi permalink
    November 21, 2010 11:29 am

    Continuing to pray… Hope your back pain is much better too.

  4. Babs permalink
    November 21, 2010 12:20 pm

    Jill…..
    Please hold those little boys tight for me. They love you so much. Enjoy the holidays and every second w/ your family.
    I’m not sure if any FAMs told you, but my 2 month old g’daughter died last Friday night – assuming its SIDS.
    Your family is so devoted to you and you to them. Your love shines brightly even in the darkest times.
    hugs to you,
    Babs

    • November 21, 2010 12:37 pm

      I am so sorry, Babs. My condolences to your entire family.

      Naturally it started snowing as soon as the guys went out…. now I’m worried. :-/ They know how to drive, though, and it’s above freezing. Sigh.

  5. mom permalink
    November 21, 2010 12:44 pm

    To Babs: That everything will go well for your family after g’daughters death. I offer my condolences and hugs to you and your family, along with prayers for a lasting good outcome for that family. Any other children in that family? My heart hurts for you all, Hugs and prayers are coming your way.
    Mom/Gail

  6. November 21, 2010 1:39 pm

    Hoping you get some relief soon ❤

  7. Ellen permalink
    November 21, 2010 2:30 pm

    Oh brudder, this is something you don’t need. I’m praying for you, too, Jill.

    Tomorrow, tomorrow, someone please fit Jill into their schedule tomorrow, you’re only a day away….

    PLEASE!!!

  8. Sarahtee permalink
    November 21, 2010 3:30 pm

    Praying here too, Jill…

  9. Colleen Oates permalink
    November 21, 2010 7:08 pm

    God bless you, Jill. We will be praying that you get in to see the doctor before Thursday and maybe tomorrow. We will also be praying that your breathing becomes much easier. Love, Colleen and Ed

  10. Jennifer permalink
    November 21, 2010 10:50 pm

    We are praying for you, Jill, and are hoping that you experience ease of breath, clarity of thought and encouragement of heart as you launch into this Thanksgiving week. Thank you, Lord Jesus, for Jill and her family! Please bring peace, comfort, and a Dr. who is willing and able to see her soon…

    (Babs, so very sorry to hear about your grandaughter. Please accept our sincerest condolences and heart-felt prayers…)

    Hugs,
    Jennifer (and David…Jessalynn and Krista, too)

  11. Barbara Austin permalink
    November 22, 2010 7:05 am

    Will continue to pray for your situation Jill. Babs so sorry to hear about your loss, this is the time to let Jesus wrap his arms around you and your family. These times are never easy.
    Blessings. Barbara

  12. E Lis permalink
    November 22, 2010 8:15 am

    Prayers!!!!

  13. Sandy Bartell permalink
    November 22, 2010 8:16 am

    Oh, I so hope and pray that someone can fit you in TODAY if not sooner and get this pressure off your lungs so you can breathe easy again. Will you let us know when you get in and when you start having some relief?

  14. Denny Wilson permalink
    November 22, 2010 9:17 am

    Jill, I’ve been following your blog for months since Deb gave it to me. Our chat in the chemo lab was an inspiration to me and to think of all you’ve been through and still able to maintain a positive attitude. Your blog is full of information for many cancer patients and provides the websites to back it up. Thank you for being so brave and thorough with your information. I wish you Godspeed with relief from this latest episode. My prayers are flowing for you and yours.

    Denny

  15. November 22, 2010 9:34 am

    Jill — praying for you everyday and hoping you get relief soon.

Leave a Reply

