Skip to content

Still negative

November 1, 2010

[picapp align=”right” wrap=”true” link=”term=triple&iid=8989511″ src=”http://view4.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/8989511/this-triple-exposure/this-triple-exposure.jpg?size=500&imageId=8989511″ width=”234″ height=”152″ /]The doctor called to say that the cancer is the same ole same ole. Still triple negative. So, we’re still in the same boat. Nothing worse, nothing better as far as treatment options.

Next steps are to deal with my back. I have doctor’s consults this week and a preliminary scan on Friday so they can plot how they’re going to do the cyber knife. I don’t know when I’ll get time on the actual machine, but I hope it’s soon. Pain relief should be pretty quick — the big danger is paralysis. Yikes.

Between the steroids to keep the swelling down around my spine and the fact that I can’t take codeine to cut the pain, I haven’t been sleeping all that well. The other night I was listening to BBC world service about 4 a.m. on the radio and listened to a researcher who was talking about the effects of sugar on your cells — how it ages them and so forth. Interesting stuff. Today I found some more research about that kind of thing. I don’t think God sends you hints like that without a reason, so I’m paying attention.

That’s why I think part of my next treatment is going to involve Metformin. It’s a diabetes drug that’s in phase III trials in combination with some sort of chemo (I think) for breast cancer. This makes sense to me, so I’ll see if I can get in on a study or get some off-label use of the drug. I’ll talk to the naturopath about that a week from today. My medical oncologist is out of the office, but I’ll see him on the 15th.

Whatever the next step I take, it’s going to have to be something I’m convinced in my mind is relevant and is also innovative. I don’t think the current trends in treating triple negative breast cancer are really on the mark — just more poison.

Anyway, that’s where things lie right now. If you want to pray for me, pray that I can get a good night’s sleep and can handle the side effects of the steroids without getting “roid rage.”

12 Comments leave one →
  1. E Lis permalink
    November 1, 2010 6:15 pm

    I am definitely praying for many things, including sleep. I think often lack of sleep is one of those things we all don’t address or think of when someone is ill or has a disability/disorder. Sleep is so essential!!! I also will pray for peace of mind. I truly wish there was something more I could offer. Much love, (((HUGS))), good thoughts, healing white light and prayers. I truly am sorry none of the news has been that much more positive too.

    Lisa

  2. Murray permalink
    November 1, 2010 6:22 pm

    Hi Jill,

    We will pray – steroids are tough enough even without all the other things. It’s interesting about the sugar – I think I got that same vibe a while back, so I’ve been limiting mine. Like you said – makes sense somehow. Although that leftover Halloween candy might present some challenges. I knew it was a mistake to buy Almond Joys.

    Here’s to a good nights sleep! – Maria

  3. Sami permalink
    November 1, 2010 7:09 pm

    Jill, you are always in our prayers and we will pray for a restorative sleep and strength.

    Sami

  4. Sandy Bartell permalink
    November 2, 2010 8:01 am

    I’m praying that you get sleep AND your cyber-knife procedure soon because spinal pain is awful (and can also keep you from sleeping). The metformin for cancer treatment is a new one, but I guess it’s not all that uncommon to discover that a drug used for one treament is also good for another.What is the metformin supposed to do for cancer? Does it work in place of chemo? I would imagine there are little if any side effects (which would be great after going through chemo). My mom has been on it for years for prediabetes and never had any side effects. I know everyone is different, but I’m hoping it will be a much more palatable experience for you than the chemo has been.

  5. mom permalink
    November 2, 2010 8:39 am

    Have not much to say. Two things though, the 15th is an important date to me. Metforman lowers blood sugar in prediabetics along with other prediabetic medicines. Getting rid of the sugars in the blood might help destroy those cancer cells. One of my friends, Helen, worked for a doctor many years ago, who told her to stay away from sugars. She did and she is now 93 years old. Coincidence? My prayers and my hugs are with you all the time. And I have always loved and cherished you. God will be with you as you progress with your medical team. Love, mom

  6. November 2, 2010 11:18 am

    Praying you get sleep. . . and wisdom. . . and rest. . . and peace. . .

  7. Sarahtee permalink
    November 2, 2010 1:28 pm

    Praying here, Jill. I’m very interested in the sugar connection, and hope you can use the metformin as a non-chemo type treatment.

  8. Ellen permalink
    November 2, 2010 6:18 pm

    Too bad we couldn’t get you some of that sleepy poppy stuff that made Dorothy and her Oz team fall asleep in that field. Maybe if you click your heals 3 times and say “I want to sleep”?

    Sweet dreams Jill,
    Ellen

  9. Rachel permalink
    November 3, 2010 3:43 pm

    Ellen, I think that sleepy poppy stuff would be Morphine (opiate, made from poppy seeds)! But I’m all for the clicking the heels 3 times and saying “I want to sleep”. I hope you are able to get some rest, Jill.

  10. JakKim permalink
    November 4, 2010 11:34 pm

    Prayers Jill. Always. xoxo

  11. November 6, 2010 1:13 pm

    I have not eaten sugar in years, it’s poison.

    This is very long but well worth the time, you won’t want sugar after you watch it.

Leave a Reply

