Skip to content

Dr. Eeyore gets a new name

October 22, 2010

He’s now Dr. Hope, Jr.

[picapp align=”right” wrap=”true” link=”term=popsicle&iid=275874″ src=”http://view4.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/275874/young-girl-eating-popsicle/young-girl-eating-popsicle.jpg?size=500&imageId=275874″ width=”234″ height=”352″ /]I think this is the right color for the piss and vinegar Popsicle? Thanks for all the good thoughts and prayers, I’m feeling the support. And I agree with what my sister and mom said. =)

Anyway, Dr. Eeyore redeemed himself. He’s very happy with the brain MRI. The spot that is bigger he thinks is not cancer but instead radiation necrosis from the previous treatment. That means that the tissue in that area is dying or has died, not just the tumor. There’s about a 5% chance of this happening with any treated tumor and I’ve had 12 treated, so the chances go up significantly. Since I’m a-symptomatic right now we’re just going to treat with steroids (yuk) and re-check in six weeks. At some point this thing bled, but it stopped so I dodged a bullet there. If it continues to grow  — meaning tissue continues to die — they’ll likely have to cut it out physically. Yuk again, but we’re going to pray it heals on its own.

The lesion in my back can’t be re-treated with “regular” radiation without causing damage to my spine, but it can be treated with cyber knife (focused radiation). It will need five treatments and I can’t be on chemo during that time, so it’s good I’m between chemos at the moment. Meanwhile, I’ve been told not to lift more than 10 pounds or do much bending. Guess who’s not going to be vacuuming for a few weeks? Darn! We’ll figure out next week when I can go in for the cyber knife. I had some really bad pain yesterday with the spine MRI they did, so I took some Tylenol with codeine. Guess what? I’m now very allergic to codeine. This is going to be a problem because my next option for pain management before the back is treated is morphine. I’m not going to go “there.” I told him I’d go with Acupuncture and extra strength Tylenol and see if that works.

After the cyber knife I’ll have to wait about two weeks to start the new chemos, and to decide about them. I’ll be talking with the naturopath about the chemos on Monday and see what she thinks. I might also track down another oncologist for another opinion.

About the lung lesions. Dr. Hope, Jr., showed me the picture of the scans on his nice big screen computer. The lesions are all tiny tiny tiny. He said, “Meh. Not too bad.” We plotted a bit and what we think we’ll do is see how they react to the chemo. If anything’s left after that we might try cyber knife on those too. So that’s a good idea. Again, more hope.

On Tuesday morning I will be getting a biopsy of the largest lung lesion. Lung biopsies are miserable and you risk a collapsed lung, which happened to me last time, so pray against that this time, okay? I have a follow-up appointment with the oncologist on Thursday at which time we’ll look at the pathology report for the biopsy and start some chemo planning based on working around radiation and whatever the pathology report says.

As far as the pathology, let’s pray that it either shows that the cancer has switched from hormone negative to hormone positive or, better yet, that it’s actually Valley Fever — which can be responsible for many of the types of lesions I’ve been getting. Wouldn’t it be great to hear “Ooops. You actually have a fungus, not cancer”?

Funny thing: Dr. Hope, Jr. was on the phone talking with my oncologist (to whom I gave a bad time on Wednesday). They were chatting about my allergic reaction to codeine and about whether or not the oncologist thought I was having any brain symptoms. He said, “She’s more lucid than either one of us.”

So, there you go. I will continue to stock up on piss and vinegar Popsicles and keep giving ’em heck!

 

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy Bartell permalink
    October 22, 2010 4:51 pm

    Piss away! YOU GO, GIRL!!!!!! 🙂

  2. Murray permalink
    October 22, 2010 4:57 pm

    I like Hope, Jr. So we’re praying for no lung collapse, as well as your recovery in general. I’m so glad Dr. Eeyore converted. Take care – Maria

  3. Debbie permalink*
    October 22, 2010 5:07 pm

    Last night I read in the Bible that the prayers of a righteous man are powerful AND effective. Right now you have thousands of righteous men (an women) praying for you. You are on the prayer chains of several Seattle churches that I know of, one in LA (thanks to Kara), plus all your internet friends. Take that, cancer!!

  4. E Lis permalink
    October 22, 2010 5:16 pm

    Oh Jill the saying “if it ain’t one thing it is another…” resonates in my mind! I’m glad for some more optimistic news, but also know this is a long battle. Keeping you in my prayers. Although I can not recite the verse… I know in the bible it talks about the multitudes of prayers resonating, ie we all pray and somehow it does have a larger impact than we can visualize.

  5. mom permalink
    October 22, 2010 5:36 pm

    yes, larger. So there! Hit the road Satan!!We do not need you to bungle up this family. Get out of here. Love you my dear Jill. Mom

  6. October 22, 2010 6:44 pm

    Go go go you great Dr.! Love and hugs again from the Great White North (just back from Las Vegas.) 🙂
    xoxo

  7. Resa permalink
    October 22, 2010 8:24 pm

    I find it cute that you’ll say “give ’em heck” right after “piss and vinegar” on your PG blog.

    It ain’t over, ’til it’s over…and it’s aways from that yet.

  8. JakKim permalink
    October 22, 2010 8:28 pm

    Jill, hey. Been reading but not sure just what to say – so I will copy BABS said yesterday – tie a knot at the end of your rope and hang on. And we’re all hanging on with you.

    If you need some storage space for those popsicles you’ve stocked up, things should be freezing in Saskatchewan soon – just send them my way and I’ll hold on to them until you need them.

    xoxo

  9. Ellen permalink
    October 22, 2010 9:01 pm

    Jill, I never thought I’d find myself saying to you or anyone for that matter that I would love nothing more than for them to be full of fungus. On the other hand, I’ve heard that piss and vinegar marinated mushrooms are a delicacy in some cultures.

    Yeah for Dr Hope, Jr! You’ve got their attention now, and they are listening! Don’t back down, Jill!

    Ellen

    PS: I don’t think that I’ll ever be able to look at a yellow popscile the same way, ever again…

  10. Jennifer permalink
    October 22, 2010 10:29 pm

    Dr. Hope, Jr. may share some similarities to the Wizard of Oz telling the Lion, Scarecrow and Tinman what they THINK they have may ACTUALLY be something else (and much better it is, too!!) Well, one thing’s for sure, you do have an exorbitant amount of courage, a good solid brain (even if a little bit of it is dead) and HEART.

  11. Babs permalink
    October 22, 2010 10:31 pm

    Wow, I didn’t realize I could be so wise! Thanks Jakk! Jill, guess you’ll need to hang on to my every word!!!!! Lol

  12. Lisa Welch permalink
    October 22, 2010 10:52 pm

    Hey – I know how to push a vacuum and could use the workout, so feel free to ask me to come do that for you (or change bedsheets, etc). Starting a new job (ack!) Monday, but done at 12:30 every day. Love to you and yours and keeping your doctors in my thoughts, too, hoping for their wisdom, patience, and bravery.

  13. Marie Barth permalink
    October 23, 2010 10:14 pm

    Lots of prayers that no complications arise with your lung biopsy. May God continue to give you strength and courage.

  14. Colleen Oates permalink
    October 25, 2010 9:22 pm

    Jill, Praying your lung lesion biopsy goes well tomorrow. Remember, you can do all things through Christ who strengthens you. Love, Colleen

  15. October 25, 2010 9:30 pm

    Thanks, all. Let’s pray against a collapsed lung. Ouch! And for good results. I won’t get those until Thursday afternoon.

    Not looking forward to this, but there’s not way but to go through it.

  16. October 26, 2010 7:43 am

    Oh heck, with the radiation necrosis you didn’t need to remember that thing you don’t remember you probably forgot anyway. I think.
    Fungus is the new pink.

    -Scott

Leave a Reply

