Skip to content

Just waitin’ and watchin’

September 10, 2010

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”true” link=”term=pill+bottle+spilling+clock+faces&iid=231067″ src=”http://view1.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/231067/modern-health/modern-health.jpg?size=500&imageId=231067″ width=”234″ height=”351″ /]I saw the brain guy yesterday for a one-month follow-up after the gamma knife surgery in early August. I didn’t have a scan, just a face-to-face meeting. They wanted to know if I’m having any problems with my head and they looked at me to see if I’m acting weird. As I haven’t had any problems of note and my weirdness seems to be withing the spectrum of “normal,” I have been told I don’t need another brain scan until early November.

Ditto the whole-body scan — no scanning until early November. We’re going to wait that long to see if the chemo pills are working. I know they’re making my feet hurt and my fingers tingle, so we’re figuring out a lower dose. I supposed the pain means they’re doing something in my system.

We’re also waiting for a transcript from the San Francisco doctor so my doctor here can do an official evaluation of her ideas. We might or might not change course based on what she says. Again, just waiting for her transciption service to type up her notes and get them mailed.

What this means to me is that I don’t have another doctor’s appointment until September 23rd, and that one is to visit the podiatrist to see if my foot has finally healed from the fracture. It seems to be behaving well, so that’s a good thing. My next cancer-related doctor visit isn’t until October 1. For someone who’s been seeing doctors several times a week for months on end, this is a huge relief and practically as restful as taking a vacation to the most heavenly resort you can think of.

I should say that I’m also going in to the alternative clinic every Friday for IV vitamin C, that’s where I am right now as I type. I get plugged in to an IV drip and have to sit for two hours, but at least I don’t feel like garbage afterward and can go about my normal activities.

Of course, with the chemo pills one of my new normal activities is taking a lot of naps and going to be very early, but I hope when we re-adjust the dose that will change at least a little bit.

That’s all there is to report. We can return to the nail-biting wait for scan results in November. Can’t wait. Yippy.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2010 3:55 pm

    No major doc appts for several weeks — that does sound amazing. (And this is coming from just our “normal” appt’s the past few weeks. . .) Thinking of you. . .

  2. Jennifer permalink
    September 10, 2010 7:12 pm

    Thanks again, Jill, for keeping us in the know.
    My mom was asking about you today. 🙂
    She is home from the hospital after a pretty crazy bout of dehydration.
    Do these drugs make you thirsty?

    • September 12, 2010 6:20 pm

      Not thirsty. They make my mouth dry at night, though. Also, I have been told that I must drink a lot of water with the drugs lest I destroy my liver, kidneys, and bladder. Such fun!

  3. Bemused Boomer permalink
    September 10, 2010 9:33 pm

    I’m intrigued by this idea of someone watching to see if you act weird. I fully believe that anyone watching me for more than 15 minutes would notice weird behavior of some sort. Congrats on being weird within the norms! And on your vacation from doctors for a while.

    • September 12, 2010 6:20 pm

      I continually strive to be weird within the norms. 😉

  4. Murray permalink
    September 12, 2010 9:52 am

    Hi Mrs. B,

    Thank you for the update – and we’re very glad you get a “vacation” from doctor’s visits – yeah!

    Reading some of the other posts reminded me of my favorite high school teacher, Mr. Griffin – he was to me what you have been to Justin 🙂 He taught biology, and “normal” was a pet peeve of his – he always said there was no “normal” – only average. Here’s to being “average” in all those healthy biological ways, while being decidedly stellar in other areas – especially as a mentor to young writers!

    Take care,

    Maria

    • September 12, 2010 6:21 pm

      Thank you, Maria. Justin is a wonderful young man and a great student. I hope Dartmouth is treating him well.

  5. E Lis permalink
    September 13, 2010 2:12 pm

    I am with you on that I thrive being abnormal within limits (which technically is just plain ole normal) – I call it eccentric and save myself explanations 😉

    I am glad you get a physical reprieve, however I know it is not an emotional one.

    If you have a chance, I can not recall which chemo drug you are on? My Dad is still on tamoxicen (and yes, I am mispelling it horribly… doesn’t help my Mom mispronounces it horribly *G*).

    Much love, blessings, prayers, healing white light and ((HUGS)) from the universe as a whole which includes me of course 🙂

    – Lisa

  6. Babs McNeely permalink
    September 14, 2010 9:21 pm

    I have an idea…a FAM tour! Start here on the East Coast and work your way home!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

