Skip to content

Scans Thursday — from head to toe.

July 19, 2010

I worked up the courage to tell the doctor I’m ready to get scanned again. He’d wanted to do these before the end of July. They jumped right on that and I will be getting scanned from head to toe on Thursday starting at 7:40 a.m. It’s good to get them all done at the same time since they’re all done in the same place. So, here’s what I’m getting: brain MRI, CT of torso, and MRI of my foot to see if the fractured metatarsal is just that or bone cancer.

What are they looking for? Any kind of new spread of the cancer and growth in what’s already there. I’ll get the results on Friday morning at 10:15 a.m. This is an improvement over the time they used to schedule my appointments to get results a week later. It’s enough to make you develop a nail-biting habit.

I think you can figure out what to pray for — good results and control of anxiety for me.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. lianamerlo permalink
    July 19, 2010 5:50 pm

    I know I don’t know you but I can only imagine how stressful this situation must be. But I hope all goes well and you’re okay.
    Coming from a chronic worrier, I sound like a hypocrite telling you there’s no point in worrying, but it’s true. Just try to keep your mind off it and think positively.
    Wish you the best on Thursday.

  2. July 19, 2010 6:42 pm

    Umm. Do you get to drink some of those yummy cocktails before the pictures are taken?
    Just wondering. Had my fill of those things. Good luck to you. It’s not fun, but here’s hoping it will at the least give you some peace of mind. Bless you!

    • July 19, 2010 7:11 pm

      Yes. Yummy drink and also the dye through the veins — one dye for the CT and one for the brain MRI. Fun fun fun!

  3. July 19, 2010 6:55 pm

    Praying. . . And, wow. Head to toe. Fun.

  4. Babs McNeely permalink
    July 19, 2010 8:48 pm

    Make sure to smile pretty for the camera…. 🙂
    Hugs girl, praying and thinking about you.

  5. July 20, 2010 5:36 am

    I think that’s what I’d do, too, just get it all over with in one big session. And yippee about getting the results right away! So much less time to contemplate all the “what ifs” that way. 🙂
    Two weeks ago today I was about 15 minutes from leaving the house to head to Redmond for my surgery. I’m having an excellent recovery, and I’m pretty sure they’ll let me use the jacuzzi bathtub in our fancy hotel room at our big party next month. It’s cool that you can swim with your broken foot — we can be swimmin’ sisters!

    • July 20, 2010 9:47 am

      How did I miss your surgery?! I’m a little too wrapped up in myself I guess! I had thought you were going to put it off for a while. Glad it went well.

      • July 20, 2010 2:14 pm

        I’m putting off the top part, but got the lower part done. They removed a whopping 5.4 pounds of excess skin, plus another pound of fat, from my abdomen! That’s about 3 times more than they estimated for “a person of my size”. Yesterday, I bought a comfortable-fitting size 8 pair of pants. Woo hoo! And except that my funky thighs have always rubbed together, even when I was a skinny kid, I might not feel embarrassed to wear a swim suit any more. So they’d better tell me I’m healed enough to immerse myself by August 14th so I can enjoy all the luxuries at our bit party! 🙂

  6. E Lis permalink
    July 20, 2010 7:21 am

    Prayers being said for the scan results and your anxiety reduction! Always in my thoughts, prayers…. Lisa

  7. mom permalink
    July 20, 2010 3:18 pm

    Here too, prayers and positive thoughts. Much love and hugs to you too. No anxiety for you. Dear God, be with my child. Mom

  8. Colleen Oates permalink
    July 22, 2010 11:16 am

    Jill, We are praying for you. Love, Colleen and Ed
    Phillipians 4:12 , I can do all things through Him who strengthens me
    2 Corinthians 10:5 , God’s faithfulness if you are feeling anxious

  9. Ellen permalink
    July 23, 2010 11:45 am

    Holding hard and fast for good news …

Leave a Reply

