Skip to content

Another one for the “it’s always something” file.

July 12, 2010

[picapp align=”right” wrap=”false” link=”term=broken+foot&iid=8394353″ src=”http://view1.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/8394353/foot-cast/foot-cast.jpg?size=500&imageId=8394353″ width=”234″ height=”235″ /]I went to the podiatrist today. I wanted to get someone else to look at my toenails besides the dermatologist who is afraid of spiders. I thought she prescribed some pretty toxic stuff a little quickly. Plus, now that my chemo-induced foot weirdness has gone away (aka peripheral neuropathy), I could tell that there was a sharp pain in my left foot that was just not going to get better.

The podiatrist recommended something much less toxic for my toenails (thank you Dr. Amy!!) and also x-rayed my foot. As it turns out I have a stress fracture of the 2nd metatarsal bone , which is not uncommon in women “of a certain age.” So, I’m in a walking boot for the next four to six weeks, off all “extra” activity such as walking the dogs, hiking, yard work, etc. I can swim, but I have to be careful getting out of the pool. It looks like what I can do, though, is lift weights in my upper body and really bulk up. The walking boot already makes me look like RoboMom, so why not make the rest of me mean and threatening? A few weeks in a walking boot is small potatoes compared to chemo.

Fortunately Hank and Daniel do most of the outdoor work. The dogs aren’t going to be happy because I’m their primary walker, but someone else can walk them for the next four to six weeks, eh? Speaking of dogs, there’s a little ball-type hand pump that you use to pump air into the walking boot. It’s shiny and makes fun noises and it’s just the size of a Corgi’s mouth. Miss Q saw me use it once and it’s already her One and Only Desire. I’m gong to have to keep an eye on that thing or it’s going to “disappear” like one of Hank’s orthotics.

Because I’ve already had cancer in my bones they want to make sure I don’t have cancer in the fractured bone, so I will have an MRI of my foot. (I wonder if my foot is as claustrophobic as my head. We’ll find out.) There’s a slight possibility there’s a tumor in that bone that has caused the fracture. If there is, I’ve had good success with two other bone tumors responding well to radiation, so I’m not all that worried. The oncologist says he’s never seen bone cancer in someone’s foot before. Just watch. I’ll be the first person with foot cancer in his clinic!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    July 12, 2010 5:30 pm

    This sounds like a fracture Aunt Pat Had when she was playing with her dogs and it took a while for it to be diagnosed and then to heal. She can fill you in, eh, Pat?? Mom with love

  2. Babs McNeely permalink
    July 12, 2010 5:58 pm

    Look at it this way, you’re getting a jump start on a Halloween costume. Throw on some aluminum foil and you can be the tin man (actually tin woman). Dye the corgi black and she can be ToTo. 🙂 *j/k* (did it make you smile)
    hugs

  3. July 12, 2010 6:59 pm

    Aunt Pat and I had the same foot symptoms at the same time. She had to wear the bootie. Mine was just a bone spur of the 5th metatarsal, irritating the tendon and causing tendonitis. The podiatrist tried an NSAID patch to reduce the swelling. After 3 days, my BP was off the charts and my stomach felt like a fireball. Should have known — the pill form of NSAIDs does that to me. Went to a few sessions of ultrasound at the physical therapist to reduce the inflammation and pain, and that’s all they could do.

    Anyway, the podiatrist said that if it was not caused by an immediate injury that I remembered, it could be something that happened a month to years ago, like an avulsion fracture. I guess those foot pains can just sort of sneak up on you whenever they’re ready to complain. Glad you get a chance to heal your fracture!

  4. Michelle permalink
    July 14, 2010 11:24 am

    Jill, Welcome to the Sisterhood of The Walking Boot! I’m trapped in one as well (fractured metatarsals 2, 3, and 4 in a car accident) for at least another three weeks (fractures are three weeks old tomorrow, but there will be no cake and ice cream). I’m not supposed to put any weight on my foot at all. No walking or standing and no swimming–unless I can figure out a way to hop out of the pool on one foot. As you point out, six weeks (or even eight) stuck in a walking boot is nothing compared to chemo. I’ll think good thoughts for you not having a tumor in your foot. Take care!

    • July 14, 2010 7:28 pm

      Oh no! That sounds incredibly painful. And with the baby to handle to. Let’s hope you’re truly halfway through.

      • Michelle permalink
        July 15, 2010 10:41 am

        It’s past the point that it’s truly painful (of course, I haven’t tried standing on it in 3 weeks). Now it’s just annoying that I’m not able to take care of the kids, drive to the grocery store, or even walk around. A broken foot is absolutely *nothing* compared to what you’re going through, and for that I am very thankful. 🙂 Hope your return to work is successful!

  5. Bemused Boomer permalink
    July 15, 2010 12:23 pm

    Just what you needed–RoboFoot! I wore one for many weeks for a cracked bone (woman of a certain age, blah, blah). Questions to ask: 1) Can I get physical therapy to make sure my foot heals the right shape and size? 2) Can I have foot support while in the Robo Foot? (though it sounds like having air pumped into it may do that.) Yes, experience speaking. They threw my little flat foot into a RoboFoot several years ago with no support,etc. I had to go through two 6-week sessions because it wasn’t healing (duh!) When it was all over, I had (and have) a foot a whole size bigger than the other that splays and generally causes havoc. (Which could have been avoided with proper support.)

    You have lots of experience calling doctors to task. Don’t let them be lax about this. You have many, many years to walk on that foot–make sure it comes out the way you expect it to! I doubt it’s a tumor. Those little foot bones give way at the slightest provocation when you’re a “woman of a certain age.” Still, getting older has its good points…

Leave a Reply

