Skip to content

Here’s the plan – at least for the next couple of months.

July 1, 2010

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”true” link=”term=roller+coaster&iid=235060″ src=”http://view.picapp.com/pictures.photo/image/235060/creatas-images-single/creatas-images-single.jpg?size=500&imageId=235060″ width=”337″ height=”506″ /]I had the last in my series of decision-making doctor/alternative practitioner appointments today. This one was with the medical oncologist. The more I meet with him the more I like and respect him, though sometimes he makes me crazy — mostly because he can’t fix the cancer. Apparently he’s not God and he’s the first to acknowledge it. That’s a rare trait in a doctor.

I told him I’m feeling pretty good and I’m not prepared mentally to re-start any kind of chemo right away. This is also what I talked with the naturopath about. They both advised that I’d probably tolerate the cytoxan/xeloda treatment better than I think I will (see Perils of Jillene for a description of that treatment). They both think I could live and work normally. They also both said I could wait a while before starting, meanwhile we should watch closely — meaning scan regularly to see if the cancer progresses. To me “watch closely” means a scan every four months or so. To the oncologist that means we should look every couple of months.

I left his office today with the advice that he thinks I should make an appointment for a CT scan of my torso at the end of July or early in August since my last scan was on May 26. I’m more inclined to wait until mid-August when I have to get my brain scanned anyway. But I’ll think about it and call and let them know when I want it scheduled. It’s nice to feel at least a little in control. I really need to get my feet back under me after the last round of chemo before I even think of dumping more poison into my body, potentially for a couple of years.

So, there you go. Cancer treatment is like a never-ending roller coaster ride. I suppose some people would think a perpetual roller coaster would be fun, but I hate roller coasters.

Meanwhile, I’m moving forward with life. Tomorrow I start IV Vitamin C treatment with the naturopath. That usually causes no problems at all, but I’ll have the weekend to recover just in case I react badly. I’ll continue with all the other supplements the naturopath has prescribed. Next week I’ll do all my normal “tune-up” doctor’s visits — dentist and so forth — and then resume work on-site on Friday, July 9. I’ve been doing some work from home and my concentration level has been pretty good. I’m still getting tired pretty easily, so I’ll pace myself. I think I’ll be okay, though.

And who knows? The next scan might show no progression at all, or the cancer might retreat and disappear. That’s what I’m praying for!

Oh, and the template for my blog kind of blew up and started dropping bits and pieces, so I’ve switched templates.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 9:54 pm

    fingers crossed that things improve

  2. Colleen Oates permalink
    July 2, 2010 5:35 am

    Jill, Thank you for your update and we are praying for your healing. Life is a fight of faith, but the Bible tells us it is a good fight ( 1 Timothy 6:12) , and God has given us the ability to speak to impossible situations and see them turn around! Have a great 4th of July. Love, Colleen

  3. Babs permalink
    July 2, 2010 10:56 am

    I’m a wuss when it comes to roller coasters….*g* Happy 4th!

  4. July 2, 2010 11:37 am

    I hear being on a roller coaster and banging your head back and forth can cause brain injury. Best to avoid, even if it is 1 in 25 million…
    -Scott

  5. E Lis permalink
    July 3, 2010 9:53 am

    I have always told people that I dont’ do rollercoasters well either 😉 Bless you and yours!

    Continued prayers, healing white light, good thoughts and ((HUGS))! – Lisa

  6. mom permalink
    July 3, 2010 10:30 am

    Positive thoughts and prayers. It will work out Okay and no roller coaster ride for me either, we will stay on the bus. Love you, mom

  7. Cristina permalink
    July 7, 2010 6:31 pm

    I am thrilled you’ll be back on Friday!!! It’s been nearly a year since I’ve seen you.

    By the way, I like the your new template. yup, all this talk about chemotherapy and scans (some of this stuff zooms over my head), and all I notice is the template…

Leave a Reply

