Skip to content

Met with radiation guy today.

June 2, 2010

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”true” link=”term=radiation&iid=181936″ src=”0178/578ca919-b712-4a73-a89d-cd8332c183a0.jpg?adImageId=13078149&imageId=181936″ width=”234″ height=”410″ /]I’ll be starting radiation treatments Monday to treat the lesion in my T6 vertabra. The treatments will last about 2 weeks, same as the treatments for the rib lesion.  I didn’t get fatigued from those, and likely won’t from these — other than driving back and forth to the hospital every day.  The only problem he can foresee is irritation to the esophagus since the treatment goes front to back rather than back to front. As with real estate it’s all “location location location” when it comes to getting zapped.

I also will meet with the thoracic surgeon on Monday, though now I have a few more ideas from the radiation oncologist (aka “radiation guy”). He suggested that I also could get radiation to the lung (SRS, gamma knife, or just regular radiation). Given that lung surgery is no picnic and this particular cancer seems to run screaming from the gamma knife, that’s not a bad option. I will discuss that with the thoracic surgeon and with the naturopath, who I will visit on Tuesday.

When the medical oncologist (aka “the poison guy”) gets back from his conference next week sometime, I’ll begin discussing further steps. Unless he has something compelling to present, I will likely go on some sort of mild maintenance dose of something or other and try to get back to somewhat normal life.

My biggest fears right now are being forced into a medical retirement, and having to be on chemo for ther rest of my life.

That’s all the news from here. I’ll have more late Monday or Tuesday.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Murray permalink
    June 3, 2010 10:50 am

    We’re praying for you every day and hoping you never retire – well, unless you want to!

    Take care,

    Maria

  2. Lisa Welch permalink
    June 3, 2010 8:43 pm

    Hi, Jill. Let me know if you want to have coffee/lunch/breakfast/dessert, etc before/after one of those daily appointments. I’m happy to meet you wherever you’d like.

  3. E Lis permalink
    June 4, 2010 9:05 am

    Hi Jill,

    It is no picnic to realize treatment may be ongoing. I am sure you had thought of it before though. I have heard radiation is a bit better than chemo as far as wear and tear, but haven’t lived it, so can’t say for sure on that one. I wish there was something I could offer, but I only have continued prayers, good thoughts and white healing light. You and yours are always in my thoughts.

    – Lisa

  4. June 5, 2010 8:54 am

    Lots of love and healing thoughts to you, Jill.

  5. Marie Barth permalink
    June 10, 2010 4:05 pm

    We send love and prayers for guidance on the best possible decisions about future treatments. You are an inspiration.

  6. June 11, 2010 6:46 pm

    Good luck. Hope your condition improves and that you will soon be the recipient of good news

Leave a Reply

