Skip to content

“You’ll die of old age…”

May 17, 2010

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”true” link=”term=old+woman&iid=308299″ src=”0305/0000305020.jpg?adImageId=12894610&imageId=308299″ width=”380″ height=”265″ /]I got my brain scan and torso scan today. Preliminary results are in on the brain scan (final on Thursday). There’s nothing new (yay!). The two lesions that were treated in August ’09 are completely gone — or at least not detectable on the MRI. That’s very good news as some treated lesions shrink to a certain point and then lurk until they gain enough energy to come back later.

I also have two lesions that showed up in January. They’ve grown again — preliminary estimate is 1 to 2 mm growth, so they’re about 4 to 5 mm each now. In order to be treated they have to be 6mm. Given the slow growth and the good response of the other lesions I have been granted three whole months without getting my brain scanned. That’s extremely good news for me as the scans and waiting for results make me very tense. My blood pressure was 151/99 today. Bad. Even with the chemo it’s been maintaining at 120/80 except when I’m waiting for scan results.

I will, though, have to get the SRS (gamma knife) again to treat these two lesions as they seem to be on a growth trend, albeit a lazy growth trend. I shared with the doctor (my sister calls him Dr. Hope) that I’m afraid of the brain lesions as I’ve become acquainted with several people online who have died of metastases to the brain — quite suddenly. He said, “You’ll die of old age before these lesions kill you.” Meaning that if they continue their lazy habit we’ll get them before they get me. So pray for continued laziness on their part and that nothing else shows up. Also keep in mind that he was speaking only of the brain lesions. Should the cancer spread to some other vital organ — say the liver, pancreas, etc. — then the story is quite a different one. That’s the thinking behind chemo; it kills the free-floating cancer cells so they can’t land elsewhere.

Dr. Hope also glanced at the C/T of my torso just because I asked him if he could log in and look. He did take a look and said that even though he’s not an expert at reading scans of that area, they don’t look remarkable. That means there’s still a lung lesion, but it hasn’t grown or at least hasn’t grown much. There were a couple of other spots that someone in radiology had put markers on, but he didn’t know what they were. Keep in mind that there was no written report from a radiologist on this scan yet, so the unremarkable news could change.

I have no idea what this all means as far as the next steps. Hank and I will find out more on Thursday. Meanwhile, give thanks to God and continue praying for wisdom and healing.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Murray permalink
    May 17, 2010 7:01 pm

    Hi Mrs. B.,

    Yay!! We’ll keep praying. But it sounds like mostly good news, and that’s exciting.

    And another “yay!” to see you’re planning to teach at SO again next year. My little one isn’t ready for that course, but it’s exciting to hear of your plans – you’re the best (Justin has told me many times:-)).

    Blessings,

    Maria

  2. Sarahtee permalink
    May 17, 2010 7:23 pm

    Thanks for the update Jill – yay that the old lesions are gone and the new ones are slow growing ones. Lazy growth sounds good. I hope the full report is very encouraging.

    Sarahtee

  3. heidi permalink
    May 17, 2010 9:56 pm

    I’m so glad to hear a mostly “good” report today. I can hear some encouragement in your post. Missed you and Daniel Saturday, but totally understand. It was good to see Hank though. I pray for a great final report on Thursday.

    Heidi

  4. Bemuse Boomer permalink
    May 17, 2010 10:34 pm

    What beautiful words: “You’ll die of old age…” I’m praying for that to be the outcome of all of this!

  5. May 18, 2010 6:27 am

    By gosh I think you have “Couch Potato Cancer”, so stop watching all those sports and drinking beer, and get rid of that 60″ plasma TV, and stop hosting Super Bowl parties, your carousing days are over! I am sorry to have to tell you this way, but sometimes the direct approach is the best. Otherwise I may have to call my friend Mr. Gamma again, you remember what happened the last time, right? Don’t get me started if Mrs. Gamma shows up, she will bring more than just a knife, wasn’t her maiden name Slasher? What was I talking about again? Ohhh look, a pony!

    -Scott

  6. May 18, 2010 9:09 am

    Doing the happy dance and the whoop-whoops at our house in the Great White North!

  7. Deb permalink
    May 18, 2010 9:45 am

    Congratulations on the good news Jill! I was so pleased to read about your latest scans. I’ll continue with my prayers for you; I have faith that you’ll continue to travel on the road to recovery! Hugs, Deb

  8. mom permalink
    May 18, 2010 2:39 pm

    I am with Kim C., if only I could be there with her and do a dance too. What a relief. Prayers for Kim and continued prayers for you and hugs to you both. Healing is in the prayers fro you both. I know it works for I am here because of it. Love to you both and go with the couch potato routine. Not only works but is tasty too. Love to you both and continue the whoop de doop. Mom

  9. E Lis permalink
    May 18, 2010 2:54 pm

    Interesting, how for some cancer it is good for it to grow slow and for some types it isn’t. I would take the I’d die of old age comment though anyday. A Dr. that can be called Dr. Hope is a great one indeed!!!!

    Continued prayers, healing white light, (((HUGS))) and good thoughts! I take as varied of a approach as possible. 🙂

    – Lisa

  10. May 18, 2010 9:51 pm

    I hope good news comes your way

  11. Colleen Oates permalink
    May 20, 2010 4:53 am

    We are praying for you Jill and Hank and Daniel. Thank you for your blog update. God bless you. Colleen and Ed

Leave a Reply

