Skip to content

Pink gets fried.

April 21, 2010

[picapp align=”right” wrap=”true” link=”term=fried+chicken&iid=237581″ src=”0234/c6e23c87-e5bd-4576-a818-f4ca7521a047.jpg?adImageId=12602094&imageId=237581″ width=”234″ height=”351″ /]Remember when KFC became KFC rather than Kentucky Fried Chicken? They didn’t talk a lot about why they did it, but we all know it’s because fried isn’t a very good word to have in your restaurant name these days. Why? Because fried food is very bad for you. A high fat diet, espeically one that includes a lot of fried food, contributes to heart disease, diabetes, and many other diseases — potentially even cancer.

That, of course, doesn’t seem to matter to KFC, which is now selling pink “Buckets for the Cure.” And, yet again, a major breast cancer organization is accepting money from a company whose product might be contributing to the very cancer they both say they are seeking to “end forever.” At the very least, they’re giving a blessing to trading heart disease for cancer, which is disingenuous.

By the way, Colonel Sanders died of leukemia. I’m not saying it was the fried food necessarily. Maybe it was the eleven herbs and spices. Anyway, something to think about.

I swear the next product we see will be pink cigarette boxes. You just wait.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2010 9:13 am

    Had to be the 11 herbs and spices :). Woo hoo for pink cigarettes! Maybe they’ll even roll them in pink papers!

  2. April 21, 2010 9:39 am

    Pink papers — that’s hysterical!! I wonder if they could add some toxic, addictive chemical to make the smoke turn pink, too. I shouldn’t be typing this here. I’m potentially losing a fortune in product development consulting fees if the people at Phillip Morris read this. 🙂

  3. April 21, 2010 10:04 am

    Pink smoke. Oooooh. Perty. I’m sure that wouldn’t cause any problems.

    Oh, and would you all please note that the man in the picture is actually eating a healthy meal because I’m sure that super-sized glass of orange juice and all the ranch dressing on his “salad” will counteract any bad effects of the rest of the meal. Oh, and the pickle and rubbery lettuce on his burger. Yes, those will make a big difference too. And the fruit in his pie. Can’t forget about that. Why, I’d say he has his five “fruits and vegetables” right there. This meal should be NO PROBLEM for him healthwise. Right? Good thing he has a cup of coffee so he can stay awake long enough to eat all that.

    • April 22, 2010 8:35 am

      Hey, and look at those (canned, squishy and full of sodium) green beans! I don’t count corn as a vegetable. It’s a grain or starch.

      Have you seen the commercial where the lady feeds a piece of broccoli to her sweetie? They each have a bubble over their heads with a number in it. His is zero, and goes up to one when she gives him that one piece of broccoli, indicating he has had one serving of vegetables for the day. (He then goes and spits it out, goes back to zero, and then drinks some fruit and vegetable juice, raising his number.)

      Anyway, if one piece of broccoli is one serving of vegetables, that’s sad. Also if that’s the case, I must be getting 40 or 50 servings per day. I eat a half bag of frozen vegetables for breakfast (mixed with some chicken or turkey or rice), a banana and 2 or 3 tomatoes (with 3 ounces of tuna) for lunch, a 100-calorie can of fruit and 2 ounces of lunch meat (no fillers) for a snack, and either the other half of the bag of frozen vegetables for dinner (with some lean meat) or something fresh from the store like a squash or artichoke or avocado or cabbage or bok choy or whatever looks yummy.

      Starch sticks to me like glue and I immediately gain weight (plus there’s that gluten problem.) This makes sense after I read an article that said when you eat the part of the plant that grows in the spring (leafy stuff), it triggers your body into a spring and summer mode, raising metabolism and energy. When you eat the part of the plant that grows in the fall (grainy stuff), it tells your body winter is coming, and your metabolism slows. You put on fat for the cold, lean months, and you get sluggish, like a hybernating bear.

      Look at how much of the American diet it made up of grains! And the large animals we eat are fed grain. Now look at how fat everyone is getting, and look at how much starch is on that man’s plate. And, of course, you’re right about the fat as well. Something else I read a while back, that I’ll have to re-verify, was that you should never eat meat and starch in the same meal. (Maybe that’s a kosher thing.) That blows any kind of sandwich or a steak & potatoes meal right out of the water.

      Well, that’s my anti-grain soapbox. I have another one for anti-dairy, but I can save that for another day. 🙂 (I do get my calcium, but I get it from vegetables, almond milk, some soy milk and cheeses, and some goat cheese.)

  4. E Lis permalink
    April 21, 2010 11:29 am

    Anything is possible sad to say. Isn’t there someone who owns the right to the pink useage?

    It is insane it can be used and no one really questions for what use. I saw tons of pink wine last year. I wanted to know where the money goes when they claim it is for a ’cause?!’

    Yes, wine can in theory be good for a person. However, I think the FDA (not that I support them either on many things) would have a cow if pink vitamins were sold.

    • April 21, 2010 11:56 am

      Good question about the rights to use pink. I don’t think you can copyright a color, though the man who invented “mauve” made quite a bit of money off the process for dying cloth that color, and aren’t we all thankful? (http://www.rsc.org/education/teachers/learnnet/aflchem/resources/72/72%20Resources/72%20How%20was%20mauve%20made.pdf)

      I do know that the world turns pink in October because Astrazeneca (big drug company) started National Breast Cancer Awareness Month in the mid-80s. Estee Lauder company designed the pink ribbon, but I don’t know if they’ve patended it or just their own version of the ribbon — probably just their own version. I think the Komen group is the group who really spread the ribbon around. Many people believe the whole pink thing was a grass roots non-profit effort, but that is very far from the truth.

      I’d like to say that it doesn’t matter where the money comes from if it does good. Certainly if the corporations want to send the funds directly to Komen or some other organization, that would be fine. I get concerned (okay, angry) when a harmful product is used as a way to raise donations, when the truth is that it’s a marketing strategy. KFC could certainly just write a check to Komen without spending all that money on pink buckets and probably come out ahead in profits.

      The amount of money that goes to charity when you buy a pink product varies widely. Sometimes it’s remarkably small. If they product doesn’t say how much goes to the charity, the amount is probably very small.

      I will not editorialize about Astrazeneca’s motives.

      • April 22, 2010 8:43 am

        That dying process makes me want to make my own cloth and get rid of everything else that’s been chemically dyed. It can’t be good to have your skin in contact with sulphuric acids, even if they’ve been neutralized!

  5. Mom permalink
    April 21, 2010 2:25 pm

    I am going to digress a bit and go back to the late 50s. Every time one of my prescious little girls was born, 1956, 1958, 1959 and I received gifts for them I hated to open them because it was always something Pink. I wondered why I hated pink. I think now I know. I was projecting into the future, Jill, and seeing this happening. What do you think my dear?

    Mom

  6. April 22, 2010 9:21 am

    I don’t think any of us were really “pink” little girls, and you probably weren’t either. We weren’t tomboys, but we had interests beyond the girly girl stuff. Like, for example, memorizing the entire script of Wizard of Oz after one vieiwng and replaying it in the back yard. Who needs all this fancy recording equipment?

    I remember one pair of tights I particularly hated that had the added bonus of ruffles on the backside. I was probably three years old or under, but I found the enforced pinkishness so repellant that it has stuck with me all these years.

  7. Michelle permalink
    May 3, 2010 8:45 am

    Funny the topic of “Pink” should come up again now. Last week, I spotted bottles of vodka sporting pink ribbons. I instantly thought of you, Jill. 🙂

    • May 3, 2010 10:33 am

      Pink vodka label? Well, that’s definitely a new low. I guess if you drink enough you will forget about cancer, eh?

  8. May 11, 2010 8:10 pm

    definitely something to think about

Leave a Reply

