Skip to content

Too tired to tap dance.

April 12, 2010

The fatigue really hit me yesterday and today. No doubt when the test my blood on Thursday they’ll find that my red cell count has dropped into the dumps again. I’m muddling through in something of a fog, and I have absolutely nothing creative to say. I can barely think and I have bad body aches that make me feel like I’m getting the flu — but just from the hips down, if that makes any sense. So, no tap dancing for me today on my achy legs — not that I can tap dance, but not having much energy gives me the urge to do all kinds of different and active things. I suppose I could tap dance seated like they do in the following video. Or maybe not. At least it’s entertaining!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy Bartell permalink
    April 12, 2010 8:53 am

    Hi Jill, you don’t always have to say something creative on this blog. Yes, you ARE a very talented writer and it’s a pleasure to read whatever you write, but you’re also just you and when you’re going through what you’re going through (which most of us can’t imagine in any real sense)it’s fine to just be just you and not your writer self. I’m amazed you can even find the will to send us a blog post when you’re feeling so crappy. I’m hoping these awful “from-the-hips-down” aches go away as soon as you’ve finished your chemo. Hang in there. Sandy

  2. April 12, 2010 9:00 am

    Praying for you today. . .

  3. Lisa permalink
    April 12, 2010 9:22 am

    I agree that ,of course, it is not your job to entertain others, but am sure all of us enjoy your humor and comments – no matter what the theme may be. That darn fatigue!!! I have seen it hit my Dad too many times. I wish there was a way to make it go away.

    Always in my thoughts, prayers and continued white light to you and yours! – Lisa

  4. Cristina permalink
    April 12, 2010 12:03 pm

    Are those guys Gene Kelley and Danny Kaye? Can’t see the video from work… Guess it is natural to crave what you cannot have or do. Like when there is no chocolate around and realizing at that moment that you’re a chocoholic.

    • April 12, 2010 3:21 pm

      Gene Kelly and Donald O’Connor. 🙂

      • April 12, 2010 6:04 pm

        Yes! Gene and Donald. Here’s a classic Donald O’Connor: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FW02c5UNGl0. Makes me want to rent Singin’ in the Rain.

        You know, one thing I really dislike about dancers these days is they all seem to take themselves so blasted seriously. I mean, who do we have? Michael Flatley, Lord of His Pants. Sheesh.

        See, now I’ve thought of a new topic for a blog post.

        I’m feeling a bit better this afternoon. I maanged to find a time to slip in some Tylenol between doses of things with which I’m not allowed to take Tylenol (pretty much everything). That helped.

        • April 13, 2010 7:58 am

          I knew immediately that it was going to be the wall flip routine. Love that stuff! Those guys were entertainers who really used all their assets to please a crowd. These days you get people who are all wrapped up in their art and their angst and their personal drama. We were just lamenting the loss of the variety show era. We really miss the Carol Burnett Show, Donnie & Marie, Sonny & Cher, Laugh In, etc. I guess it’s cheaper to put on a reality show. (I don’t know, though, American Idol’s budget has to be pretty huge.) Oh how I miss the day of the song and dance man.

  5. Bemused Boomer permalink
    April 12, 2010 12:33 pm

    Cristina: Those guys are Gene Kelly and Donald O’Connor.

    Jill: But my dear, you DID entertain us! That video brought my mood way up; thank you! I’m sorry you’re feeling like a wet noodle and glad to see that it doesn’t stop you from writing, even if just a little. I guess, by Cristina’s definition, you’re a write-aholic. Not a bad thing, to my writerly mind.

    Blessings to you, Jill.

  6. Sarahtee permalink
    April 12, 2010 1:39 pm

    Great video, Jill – I’m sorry about the fatigue and hope your energy levels pick up quickly. Thinking of you, Sarahtee xxx

  7. Maria permalink
    April 14, 2010 1:23 pm

    I’m so sorry to read of your aches and hope you are feeling better. And this blog is wonderful on all levels, but mostly because it lets us keep up with you!

    If laughter is the best medicine, Donald O’Connor should bring some relief. He’s our favorite – my daughter and I have just been sitting here laughing and humming. We hadn’t seen that clip, so thank you.

    Take care and here’s praying that the aches subside soon.

    Maria

  8. May 6, 2010 12:56 am

    I hope that you are feeling better now

Leave a Reply

