Skip to content

Nose blowing and other bad habits.

April 5, 2010

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”true” link=”term=blood+cells&iid=5278517″ src=”4/e/b/4/Human_blood_cells_3095.jpg?adImageId=12128622&imageId=5278517″ width=”234″ height=”302″ /]The results of my last blood test are in, and the sensation of giving birth to my own hips (caused by a shot of Neulasta) resulted in raising my white cell count sky high — to four times low-normal. So, that’s a good thing I suppose. It means I’m not susceptible to every infection that floats by and the chemo will eventually drain the white count down to normal or below again. Was that amount of pain worth it? Who knows? It’s a crap shoot with this stuff.

The blood tests also showed that for the first time my platelets have dropped below normal. Platelets are what makes your blood clot if you get cut, so they’re a nice thing to have. Not having enough means I need to stay away from sharp objects, which I can manage for a while. The only cures for low platelets in my case are a blood transfusion or lowering the dose of chemo (Abraxane). We lowered the dose of chemo last Thursday and this Thursday we’ll see if the platelets are back up.  The disadvantage of lowering the chemo dose is that it might just be low enough to give the cancer another toe-hold. On the other hand, I’d rather not have a blood transfusion. I had one five years ago when my red blood cell count dropped dangerously low. Blood transfusions are miserable. Trust me on this.

My big problem with the low platelets is my nose. The biologic agent I’m getting (Avastin) works by cutting off the blood supply to tumors. When it does that it also cuts off the growth of various other tiny blood vessels. The result is that the little blood vessels in your nose don’t work right, so you get a constant drip drip drip from the nose, often resulting in a spontaneous nose bleed. The nose bleeds get worse with low platelets, so naturally I’ve been blowing my nose a LOT in highly inappropriate social locations because that’s always when a nosebleed comes on, and naturally I have to check what comes out so I know if I need to make a mad dash somewhere to keep myself from bleeding uncontrollably from my nose. So, I know  I’m being rude and I’m issuing a public apology to the world, especially to the stuck up lady in the drug store. Get a life and stop staring.

[picapp align=”right” wrap=”true” link=”term=salt+shaker&iid=299205″ src=”0295/7bc1a2e8-e018-424f-81f0-c558f17b4e37.jpg?adImageId=12128828&imageId=299205″ width=”234″ height=”340″ /]Avastin also causes bad gas. After-burner gas — and there’s nothing I can do about it. Sorry again.

But it’s neither of these are the worst public display of a bad habit that I’ve seen. No, I think what I saw in a restaurant a couple of weeks ago takes the cake. I saw a true salt addict — the man was salting his tongue with the restaurant salt shaker in between bites. Of course this caused me to engage in a couple of other bad habits, namely staring at someone in a restaurant and talking about him behind his back. Still, he asked for it. I mean, honestly, salting your tongue? Ewww.

He was even worse than the man I stared at on the bus a couple of years ago who was eating sunflower seeds and spitting the shells all over the floor. Well, maybe that one was worse. I can’t decide. What do you think?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandy Bartell permalink
    April 5, 2010 9:33 am

    Well–and warning, this is gross–I am CONSTANTLY amazed at the ADULTS who pick their noses in their cars and then… (well, you know the rest…)as if NO ONE IS WATCHING THEM! Do they think that because a glass surface separates them from us that we somehow can’t see them????!!!!

    So Jill, if you’re blowing your nose a lot at least you’re using a kleenex! No comparison. Blow away…!

    • April 5, 2010 10:47 am

      Gag. I think they should work on making this illegal along with cell phone use. I’m sure there are some people who have this kind of “breakfast” and talk on their cells — or eve text — at the same time.

  2. April 5, 2010 9:52 am

    It’s quite the drug-juggling (druggling?) act between what zaps the bad stuff vs. what zaps the good stuff, and then there’s the dealing with the resultant side-effects. People do need to just be considerate. I sometimes get annoyed when someone is tailgating me, but then I wonder if they just got a phone call and need to rush to the hospital. I think the people Sandy mentions are Bubble People. 🙂

  3. Ellen permalink
    April 5, 2010 7:39 pm

    Salting his tongue? Oh, defintely bad. I saw someone use salt as a chaser once. He had a mouthful of food, I guess it wasn’t salty enough so he salted the food that was in his mouth. Everytime I hear the line in “Margueritaville” … searching for my lost shaker of salt the visual rears it’s ugly head.

    I hate that some images will stick with you for life and ruin some of the best songs.

    Cell phones while driving are illeagle here now as is smoking in a car that has children. The problem is, I see people smoking all the time with little ones in the back and I can’t call the police because I can’t use my cell phone.

    Time for a blue tooth, I suppose. Or stop looking in other people’s cars, which will never happen.

    Keep on getting better Jill!!

    • April 5, 2010 8:22 pm

      A salt chaser? Yuck. Must’ve been my salter’s Canadian cousin.

      Looking in other people’s cars is a right, not a bad habit. That’s half the reason why people buy SUVs, ya know? Of course, with all the SUVs now on the road you can get a really good look in cars by just riding the bus. Plus on the bus you get to see all kinds of weird habits…. =:0)

  4. April 5, 2010 8:43 pm

    OH MY HELL! I did not just read that some guys was licking a salt shaker in a restaurant!!!!!!!! I already have bizarro phobias about public places and things like that. GOOD lord! I am doomed.

  5. April 5, 2010 8:44 pm

    GUY. There was only ONE weirdo licking the salt shaker.

    • April 5, 2010 9:03 pm

      Well, he was tasteful enough to open his mouth wide, tip his head back, and merely sprinkle his tongue. I think he only accidentally touched his tongue a couple of times. So that’s all right. (NOT!!)

  6. Bemused Boomer permalink
    April 5, 2010 11:21 pm

    Gross habits–we all got ’em. Life is messy.

    My daughter taught me that when you’re eating really spicy food and your tongue is burning, you can slow down the burn with salt. She, however, shook it into her hand and applied it to her tongue that way. Was that guy eating curry? Mexican? Even if it was hot food, it seems the better solution would be to…(are you ready for this revelation?)…STOP EATING IT! LOL. (Yes, I do crack me up sometimes. Yet another bad habit.)

    Good writers are always observing. I think most other people are not watching as much as you might think, Jill. Stuck up drug store lady was an exception. Ignore people like her. Carry on!

    • April 6, 2010 8:55 am

      Well, I wasn’t observant enough to see what he was eating. 🙂 It was an American place, though, and not given to serving spicy food. I think he was just disgusting. I had no idea salt can stop the burn. I’ll try your daughter’s method if the need comes up (apply to hand first, then to tongue).

      • April 6, 2010 10:05 am

        I don’t know how people do that. Salt takes the surface right off my tongue and burns the inside of my mouth. I can’t even eat potato chips. Bill and I were at a restaurant not long ago, and I couldn’t help observing a guy salting his breakfast, because he went at it for probably 10 minutes straight. He sprinkled some on his hand near the beginning to make sure it was coming out, then shook and shook and shook, and finally took the lid off to coat his food more completely. His meal must have looked like it had a powdered sugar coating. Then he handed the shaker to his female companion, who used significantly less salt, but still a lot, and then gave it back to him. I doubt they know what food really tastes like. And they must be related to goats to have such cast-iron mouths. Mine would be completely raw.

  7. Lisa permalink
    April 9, 2010 7:46 am

    Wow! Have to wonder what medical condition that guy has (mental or physical)?

    I could eat a salt lick, but would share it with the horse, of course and eat out in the barn 😉 I was told by a Dr. that my body does not digest salt properly, similar to those with sugar issues.

    Prayers and good thoughts!

  8. April 15, 2010 12:53 pm

    Been to a few youth-dominant events where the adolescent boys seemed to think it perfectly appropriate to grab the whipped cream cans set out to decorate appropriate desserts, and suck whipped cream from the spout, then put them back on the serving table. Put me off putting whipped cream on my pumpkin pie even at home where I control the cream. Deliberately staring at rude boys merely produces deliberate stars in return. Deliberately staring at their parents produces weak apologies.

    On the other hand, it’s probably good for my diet.

Leave a Reply

