Skip to content

Mom says to keep praying.

March 2, 2010

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”true” link=”term=prayer+christian&iid=7310584″ src=”0/8/3/8/Elijah_raising_the_178e.jpg?adImageId=10908836&imageId=7310584″ width=”234″ height=”357″ /] With all the good news of late, my Mom reminded us in a comment on another post to remember to keep praying. So, this is a friendly reminder from my Mom. Mom is always right, of course. God often reminds us to pray for healing, and there are plenty of examples of miracles in the Bible, which I will need if I expect to survive longer than 5 years (according the doctors) or 2.8 years (according to the insurance actuary).

The next major hurdle is, of course, three more months of chemo and then a scan to see if the chemo is working. It could always stop working or things could remain the same. Either one would mean more chemo for me. So…. pray for no more chemo after that and that the cancer would not come back soon after I stop chemo. Many women who have metastatic breast cancer go through months of chemo, have good results, stop chemo for a few months, then have the cancer return. It’s usually nastier when it comes back — a little angry perhaps.

I will also have a brain scan on March 15 (results on March 18) to see if the two 3mm tumors that showed up on the scan in January have continued to grow, remained stable, or (this would be a miracle) disappeared. If they grow they can be treated with gamma knife when they reach 6mm; treatment any smaller than 6mm would damage brain tissue and that would never grow back. Since brain tumors are unpredictable, they can can grow exponentially in a very short time. One of them is in a place that would affect my motor skills should it reach a certain size or should they hit brain tissue with the gamma knife. Also, if the brain scan shows additional tumors, then it might pop me over the limit of tumors that can receive the gamma knife treatment. I believe that limit is something like 3 or 4 at once, so I’m not too far from that right now. Reaching or exceeding that limit would mean I’d have to receive whole brain radition, which would affect cognitive skills and short-term memory, and is associated with early dementia. Lovely, eh? So, there ya go. That’s yet another reason why Mom says to keep praying.

My issues aside, this is a good place to list requests for healing prayer, so feel free to list your own. Along those lines I ask that, as you think of them, please pray for healing for my mother and my father-in-law. I won’t share their health issues  here, since that’s their business, but God knows!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 11:33 pm

    Haven’t stopped yet — the more prayers, the merrier!

  2. Lisa Welch permalink
    March 2, 2010 11:41 pm

    Keeping you in my thoughts every day.

  3. March 3, 2010 12:53 pm

    I’m really glad things are looking up. And it’s spring!!! Enjoy every minute!

  4. March 3, 2010 3:01 pm

    Thanks, all. =)

  5. March 4, 2010 8:54 am

    Just want you to know you are still in my prayers. Praying for a miracle and some good news from the Drs. in Jesus Name.

    I love you, Jill. You are a real trooper.

  6. E Lis permalink
    March 4, 2010 12:08 pm

    Jill – You never had or will leave my prayers.

    It seems it is human nature for folks to want a final answer. I have seen that with my Dad this year, as when he hit stable — everyone assumed somehow it was over? I didn’t. I d

  7. E Lis permalink
    March 4, 2010 12:09 pm

    sorry… my computer.. my bad…

    Prayers for all in need of them!

Leave a Reply

