Skip to content

Scanxiety.

February 13, 2010

Okay, the important scans are coming up. The first, a CT of my torso, is scheduled for the 22nd of Feb. at 10:30 a.m. (Pacific Time). They’ll call me next week to schedule the breast MRI some time the week of the 22nd. My follow-up appointment with the doctor is the 25th.

[picapp align=”left” wrap=”true” link=”term=CT+scan&iid=290524″ src=”0287/e17f5307-c2dc-41a0-9bc3-6d68e033c6c9.jpg?adImageId=10241556&imageId=290524″ width=”234″ height=”352″ /]I had wanted to to a PET scan of the torso, but insurance issues intervened. They’ll pay for a CT even though it means more radiation for me. Jerks.

The purpose of the scans is to see if there is anything new and if the old stuff has shrunk or not. We’re also looking to see if the two spots in my right breast are really growing or have been just sitting there doing nothing as they have been for the past two years. The last breast MRI I had two or three months ago was inconclusive as to whether or not there was growth.

So, pray for the best of the best results, whatever that is.

On the 25th we’ll decide next steps. If the best happens, I will get at least one more round of chemo (maybe two) and then be released to live life again. Living life for me from now on will also mean getting scanned every couple of months and waiting for the next recurrence because, ladies and gentlemen, apparently this will never go away; it will just keep coming back until it kills me. God, of course, could have something else to say about that. Right now I’m pretty discouraged and very worn out.

If the worst happens we’ll switch chemos, which could mean another 8- or 9-month round of something else, and if that doesn’t work, another 8- or 9-month round of something else… ad nauseum. Of course, it’s a free country and I don’t have to do any of it.

The thing with indolent (slow growing) cancer is that it is also slow to take up and respond to chemo. Thus the long grind of chemo and the long wait to see if it actually responds to a particular chemo. There’s a new blood test called a circulating tumor assay (or something like that). We’re going to talk on the 25th about maybe doing that. It’s so new they don’t always know what the results mean, but sometimes it can tell you how to target treatment.

The other thing with indolent cancer is that it can switch to aggressive cancer without any kind of warning. The advantage with aggressive cancer is that it responds to treatment faster. So…. it’s just plain good to have neither one. That’s the truth of it.

I’m getting a two-week break from chemo this time to let my body recover from all these skin infections. Also, my bloodwork shows that my liver is very very unhappy with all the infections and the poisons. At least I hope that’s why it’s unhappy. I hope and pray it’s not the cancer spreading to my liver because that would be very very very bad.

[picapp align=”right” wrap=”true” link=”term=acupuncture&iid=231579″ src=”0228/9dcfa6cc-9a54-43f1-a058-988dfd3c2d4a.jpg?adImageId=10242187&imageId=231579″ width=”234″ height=”165″ /]I’m taking next week off from seeing ANY doctors except I’m getting acupuncture on Monday. This is a first for me but I figure it’s not going to do anything negative and it could be very positive. I’ll throw everything at this cancer that I possibly can. Maybe this cancer is afraid of needles. One can only hope.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarahtee in Aus permalink
    February 13, 2010 5:14 pm

    Jill, praying for the best of best results for you. Thanks so much for the update.

  2. Sandy Bartell permalink
    February 13, 2010 8:31 pm

    Jill, I had acupuncture many years ago and loved it. Everyone responds differently, of course, so I hope it will be good for you too. And by the way, I found it very relaxing and not painful at all, a very calming experience.

    Sandy

  3. Kerri permalink
    February 13, 2010 9:03 pm

    Dear Jill,
    Praying scans are clear and stay clear for a long long long time.
    Kerri Lunsford

  4. Maria Murray permalink
    February 13, 2010 10:47 pm

    Mrs. B., We’re praying for clear results, and a nice rest and recovery.

  5. Bemused Boomer permalink
    February 14, 2010 12:13 am

    Blessings, Jill. I hope you have a good rest and acupuncture agrees with you.

  6. Lisa permalink
    February 15, 2010 9:25 am

    Prayers for all clear on the scans!
    Continued good thoughts and prayers for you and yours!

  7. Deb permalink
    February 17, 2010 4:19 pm

    Hugs, hugs, and more hugs….

  8. Lisa Welch permalink
    February 17, 2010 10:57 pm

    Keeping you in my thoughts, Jill.

  9. February 18, 2010 11:54 am

    Hello dear. I just wanted you to know I’m thinking of you and praying for you.

    Annette

  10. heidi permalink
    February 19, 2010 3:51 pm

    How was the accupuncture? I’ve never tried it, but heard it can be very helpful for lot’s of conditions.

  11. Mame permalink
    February 20, 2010 10:51 am

    Hey Jill, I’m in your pocket all the way.
    Ellen

  12. Mom permalink
    February 20, 2010 6:52 pm

    Those people I know who have had the acupuncture were very pleased with the results. The acupuncturists are positive people, knowing their method of treatment is worth your time. It is becoming more and more a treatment of choice too. Hang in there my dear one, it will go well,
    Mom

    • Jill permalink
      February 22, 2010 10:07 pm

      I had the first scan this morning. The next is tomorrow morning. The drink I had to take before the scan made me nauseous. When I went to the acupuncturist he felt my pulse and said “you’re nauseous.” I hadn’t mentioned that at all, so there’s much that they know just from your pulse and looking at your tongue, believe it or not. I’m a skeptic when it comes to acupuncture, but I have definitely felt a decrease in my fatigue after each treatment as well as a decrease in anxiety today — I asked him to work on that. So, there’s something to the needles. I highly recommend it.

  13. Sarahtee in Aus permalink
    February 21, 2010 7:38 pm

    Jill, just checking in and letting you know I’m in your pocket too.

  14. Colleen permalink
    February 21, 2010 10:58 pm

    Jill,
    Thinking of you and praying your scans go well tomorrow and your appointment on Thursday.
    Colleen

  15. Dawn permalink
    February 22, 2010 4:37 pm

    Jill–I hope you have a big pocket!! I’m there too! I’ve done acupuncture and it is very relaxing and you feel floaty and calm afterwards. It also really helps with pain. Hopefully you will enjoy it! Just go with the flow! Good thoughts you way!–Dawn

  16. Maria Murray permalink
    February 23, 2010 8:06 am

    I’ve only had acupuncture once, but it was very helpful. Glad it’s helping you! – Maria

Leave a Reply

