Skip to content

Can’t beet that post.

February 6, 2010

I’ve been scanning some of the statistics that the software collects on my blog — number of posts, number of visitors, etc. The most-visited page for 2009 was the schedule, which is nice. Too bad it’s a schedule I’d really rather not keep, but it’s nice of all of you to look. (Note: I don’t know who is visiting, just general numbers.)

What I found most interesting is the post that got at least one visitor per day: How to make beets taste good. Apparently many people have a great deal of trouble with beets.

Most people who click on the beet post arrive here through a Google search. Quite often they use the exact phrase “how to make  beets taste good,” but the terms vary and include searches for recipes like “how can I make beets taste good?” philosophical questions like “can beets taste good?” and a phrase that I can only think of as coming from someone who has a God complex, “how to make beets.”

[picapp align=”right” wrap=”true” link=”term=beet&iid=2869914″ src=”4/a/f/2/Beet_Pullers_d704.jpg?adImageId=9974038&imageId=2869914″ width=”234″ height=”181″ /]Many of the search terms bring up questions in my mind. For example, did the person who searched on the command “make beets taste good” hope for a chef to magically hop out of his or her computer and suddenly make beets taste good. And who was the person who searched on “beets taste good”? I imagine some sort of ancient beet farmer — a primitive Dwight Shrute predecessor — throwing out his core belief in the benefits of beets for the modern world.

“Beets taste good,” says Og Shrute.

“Okaaaay,” says Google. “Better send you to Jill’s blog.”

So, there ya go. Beets are a mega-hit on Google and they’re good for you. Have a nice beet salad and enjoy your day.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Bemused Boomer permalink
    February 7, 2010 1:28 am

    Me, I’ll just take Og Shrute’s word for it!

    • Jill permalink
      February 7, 2010 11:36 am

      As long as he doesn’t say “Make Boomer eat beats,” I think you’re safe.

  2. February 7, 2010 10:26 am

    Maybe they were actually searching for “How to make Michael Jacksons ‘Beat it” palatable, and had a spelling moment…

    P.S. Raw beets from my garden were tasty 😀

    • Jill permalink
      February 7, 2010 11:35 am

      Yes they were. Quite yummy.

    • Jill permalink
      February 7, 2010 11:40 am

      I think “Beet it, beet it, beet it,” is so much more interesting. Maybe he’d be alive still if he’d eaten more beets.

  3. Lisa permalink
    February 7, 2010 2:46 pm

    *LOL* Jill, yes.. wonder if good ole MJ ate his beets. I’m a bit partial as I’ve mentioned as, I love beets. I guess that makes me odd. I don’t think my son has ever ate more than a partial bite before giving up.

    Interesting that all of that can be known off of a blog site, I’m hopelessly tech challenged I guess. Don’t worry, it is partially on purpose as I spend enough time on the computer as it is .. between work/school/chatting and so forth.

    I wonder if the ATM thief read the beet story .. maybe he just couldn’t ‘beet it’ 🙂

    Good thoughts and prayers! As usual, your humor inspires me..

  4. Lisa Welch permalink
    February 7, 2010 4:55 pm

    Thanks, but for our Super Bowl “party” (just the 4 of us), we’ll stick with the mini wienie wraps, nachos, and chili. No beets hidden in there anywhere!

Leave a Reply

