Skip to content

Another weapon of mass destruction.

December 2, 2009

[picapp align=”right” wrap=”false” link=”term=radiation&iid=5214681″ src=”d/4/a/b/Nuclear_Bomb_Test_db0a.jpg?adImageId=7988508&imageId=5214681″ width=”234″ height=”179″ /]The “mass” in this case being the lesion on my right 8th rib. On December 10 I will be starting radiation to settle that thing down. The radiation oncologist doesn’t think it’s really all that much worse than the last scan showed, but since it’s been hurting me lately we’ll use the radiation as pain control.

I’ll have a “dry run” of the radiation on December 9, and then 10 treatments after that on business days, so I’ll finish on December 23 if all goes well. The radiation itself will go only the depth of my rib, so no other organs should be touched and there should be little to no associated fatigue. Each treatment will last one minute, but I’ll have to drive 1/2 an hour each way to get there.

Chemo continues. I’m scheduled through February 11, 2010. That will be the end of round seven of what will be eight or nine rounds. Each round lasts a month. I have put my chemo days under the “schedule” tab at the top of the blog.

My worse side effects from the chemo come after the third week of treatment. The one that annoys me most is the terrible pain in all of my fingertips. This is a result of nerve damage from the chemo. It lasts about a week during which time I can’t open a pop top or tear a piece of paper. It’s like I have clubs instead of fingers. Oh, and the fatigue is just great.

I’m feeling pretty well today because I’ve had my chemo break. I’m going to have to drag myself back to get poisoned again tomorrow. I am NOT looking forward to it. Blah.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2009 2:58 pm

    Hey, you have a sunny day today for your feel-good day!

  2. mom permalink
    December 3, 2009 7:39 pm

    A Ok. You are going to do fine and be healthy. Continued Love and prayers are at your doorstep forever. Thank God for you. Mom

  3. Lisa permalink
    December 5, 2009 10:48 am

    I think the fatigue is often one of the worse parts from what I’ve seen. The finger pain doesn’t sound that great either!

    Always in my thoughts and prayers.

  4. mom permalink
    December 6, 2009 8:08 pm

    Thank You Lisa from Mom. Very honest comments. Tomorrow is another day (not to coin a phrase) and there are many of them ahead for you, Jill, and the end is very near compared to what you had to look forward to in August. We soon will be neighbors and I am looking forward to that. Hugs and Kisses from Mom

  5. Colleen permalink
    December 7, 2009 6:25 pm

    Jill,
    We are thinking of and praying for you. We had a nice Thanksgiving here in St. Louis with family visiting. I hope that you are staying warm in the winter weather. John is now back on Lopez with Mom and Dad and Michelle and Mark and Camden are back in NC working on their Ph.D. Did I tell you and Hank that John is working for a company called Ravenhill Construction in the San Juans? Ed is busy in the lab at Washington University and I am back with Special School District. Praying for the numbness in your fingers. God bless you. Love, Colleen and Ed

Leave a Reply

