Skip to content

Bad drug names.

November 28, 2009
[picapp align=”left” wrap=”true” link=”term=liver+pills&iid=2793838″ src=”e/1/b/a/ILN_Adverts_be93.jpg?adImageId=7927247&imageId=2793838″ width=”234″ height=”186″ /]

Bad drug names are nothing new. Who really wants to take “little liver pills” even if they do cure biliousness and a furred tounge? But some of the newer drug names make me long for the days of little liver pills. Here are some examples.

Aciphex. Say that out loud a couple of times in front of a mirror. The emphasis is on first syllable and the “c” is soft (not pronounced like a “k”). This drug is used to treat acid indigestion, thus the “aci” prefix. The first time I heard the name of this drug was from a TV commercial. I wasn’t paying attention to the TV until I heard a bunch of people saying “aciphex” over and over. Then I took notice. Why were these people swearing on TV? In the last line of the commercial they spell the name, which explains a lot. Someone in the marketing department needs to go back to school.

Cytoxan. This is a chemotherapy drug. While I admire them for their honesty in admitting the stuff is poison, I have to admit that putting anything that sounds like “toxin” in the name of a drug is a very bad idea.

Crestor. It’s supposed to reduce cholesterol but really sounds like something you use to brush your teeth.

Trinessa. This is a birth control pill. Soon someone will name her child “Trinessa.” Wait and see. Ditto with Ziana, which is an antibiotic cream used to treat acne, Xclair, which is a cream to relieve radiation (x-ray) burns, and Xerac, which is a prescription anti-perspirant and, presumably, the name of a very sweaty Vulcan from Star Trek. Apparently it’s also trendy to begin your drug name with Z or X.

Feel free to add your own.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    November 29, 2009 10:19 am

    I think the worse part is that, not many can pronounce the names of the drug and it makes communication a double hurdle. Then, there are even pharmacists who stare at you funny when you say the ‘generic’ name of a drug. OK, so I have issues with pronouncing large words at times, but I know I’m not the only one.

    I am a great speller though, so I have been known to write out the prescription drug name to make the funny looks of others go away 😉

    PS I have found I do not spell well when I type, so forgive my typos (I blame Microsoft word and think it messed up my spelling through the years, as there always is spell check.).

  2. Resa permalink
    November 29, 2009 2:03 pm

    I always thought Anusol was a bit of an over share….

  3. mom permalink
    November 29, 2009 9:20 pm

    Lets go with something simple like Calciumyum. Make you hungry? Yum, yum.

  4. November 30, 2009 9:24 am

    Those commercials for Aciphex also make it sound like it’s a new drug. They had me on that YEARS ago. What I don’t understand is all the commercials for drugs telling you that if you think you have a certain condition, you are to ask your doctor to prescribe that drug for you. What? They weren’t getting anywhere convincing doctors that their drug was good enough be prescribed? Plus, the cost of those ads really has to jack up the price of the drug. And then there are the ads that say, “if you are having trouble paying for your prescription, Astrazenica may be able to help.” Why don’t you just lower the price for everyone? Oh, wait, then you wouldn’t be able to afford the ads.

  5. Lisa permalink
    November 30, 2009 6:24 pm

    Kim’s post reminds me, my fave commercial as it is very sick sense of humor and silly. The one that says “if you or someone you know is dead or in a coma, then please call for legal help.”

    I just want to know how many dead or in a coma folks call them 😉

    Drugs for better or for worse, are a part of life and silly at times in so many ways. I keep trying to think of an insane name and am drawing a blank. I find the whole idea of drug advertisements and legal help advertisements fairly insane to begin with..

  6. Bemused Boomer permalink
    December 3, 2009 4:33 am

    Can anyone guess what “Zaditor” is for? Gladiators’ aches and pains? Another scary Vulcan? Why no–it’s anti-itch eye drops, of all things! It even sort of works.

    It must have been developed at just about the time the marketing department came up with a nifty, new “Z” name.

Leave a Reply

