Skip to content

And now for something completely different: Thankfulness.

November 24, 2009

I will stop whining until after Thanksgiving Day*. Deal? Let’s list a few things we’re thankful for. I’ll start because it my blog. 😉

  1. Family and friends, but especially my two guys.
  2. Health (in the sense that I can walk around and still function). Yay! I’ll take that for now.
  3. Food. Really good food. Yummy.
  4. Kind words, prayers, and encouragement.
  5. MDs who seem to know what they’re doing and put up with my crabbiness and anger and think I’ll live a while.
  6. A naturopath who researches all that stuff for me and thinks I’ll live a while.
  7. Pets. Especially dogs who apparently went to clown school before they came to our house.

Please add your own!

*U.S. Thanksgiving. I acknowledge that Thanksgiving in Canada was on October 12 this year, thus sending all the extra turkeys running for the border so we can catch ‘em and eat ‘em in November.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    November 24, 2009 9:14 pm

    Thankful for my 5 brilliant children and 5 wonderful grandsons and 1 great grandson. What a family!!
    Thanks for cooperation.
    Thanks for my marriage as long as it lasted 52 years.
    Thanks for these states and God Bless America.
    Fresh air.
    Good friends.
    Humor
    Mom

  2. Marcia permalink
    November 24, 2009 10:15 pm

    Thankful for … your friendship

    ~ Marcia

    • Jill permalink
      November 25, 2009 11:27 am

      Having an awwww shucks moment. I’m thankful for your friendship too.

  3. November 25, 2009 9:56 am

    Thankful for:
    That glorious sunrise this morning.
    Mt. Rainier was visible from Marysville! A rare treat.
    I got to race the train across the flats on my way to work.
    Finally, a job I really like!
    Looking out at the perfectly still, crystal clear bay and the Olympic Mountains with co-workers.
    And this was all before 8:00 a.m.!

    And always thankful for:
    Bill and my boys and his boys and my boy’s boy, and my daughter-in-law, who is in Iraq, and Bill’s future daughter-in-law, and any other future daughters-in-law, for that matter.
    The big Thorson family! Yay team!
    Trees and mountains and rivers.
    All creatures great and small.
    This blog!
    xoxo

  4. Bemused Boomer permalink
    November 25, 2009 12:47 pm

    I’m thankful that my mom is still around and I now live close enough to drive to see her on Thanksgiving (even though it means two hours of sheer terror on the L.A. freeways!). I’m grateful for the mood boost that living in sunshine gives me. I’m grateful to still be living, relatively unscathed, 25 years after the diagnosis of my auto immune disease.

    And I know this will sound corny, but Jill I’m so glad to be able to read your blog, and glad regular doctors and natural doctors are telling you you’ll live. You are an incredibly cool person and this world really, really needs your voice!

  5. Lisa permalink
    November 27, 2009 11:23 am

    I am very thankful for you and all of my friends and family.

    I am so very thankful that my son who normally will not answer this question, responded yesterday that he is thankful for me as I’m the best Mom in the world (thankful he could even talk to tell me that, thankful that he used emotion words, thankful for how close we are AND sharing the best Mom in the world title with all of the Mom’s I know).

    I am thankful that I had a wonderful Thanksgiving with my folks and son yesterday, plus the cat who brought us much smiles.

    I am thankful for how sunny it has been this Winter. I’m loving it 🙂

    Prayers and good thoughts for you and yours Jill! I am thankful also you are able to feel thankful, when this is a time in your life that makes that kind of thinking a gift indeed 🙂

  6. Dawn permalink
    December 3, 2009 10:07 am

    Hi Jill!
    I know it’s after Thanksgiving, but I’m always thankful for my happy life. I’m so fortunate in so many ways.
    –I’m thankful for my wonderful family and the good health of each one of them. I appreciate their good health even more knowing how easy it is to lose it.
    –I’m thankful to have a job I really enjoy with people I like working with.
    –I’m thankful that my house finally sold and we will be moving into our new house before the new year. (I know that was a materialistic thing, but I’m still thankful!!)
    –But I’m especially thankful that you are fighting with everything you have to beat this nasty disease. You said in an earlier blog that you weren’t a hero, but you are. Anyone who fights hard for something worthwhile is a hero! So there!

    I hope you have a calm Christmas and are feeling better! Prayers always for you and your family.

Leave a Reply

