Skip to content

Great article about brain metastases.

October 31, 2009

Here’s a very encouraging article about cancer that spreads to the brain from the October 25, 2009 Los Angeles Times, When Cancer Spreads to the Brain. The statistics you find on the Internet for metastases to the brain are extremely depressing – as in less than a year to live. Those statistics are old, though — pre-cyber knife. This article deals with current treatments and confirms what “the brain guy” told me, that if the treatment seems to work I don’t have to worry about dying of brain cancer, at least not right away.

I had a CT of my torso on Thursday to check to see if the chemo is working on the lesion in my lung and the lesion on my right 8th rib. In addition, they’re checking to see if the cancer has spread anywhere else. I get those results on Monday at 3:30 Pacific time. Hank has a class that day and I’m too much of a chicken to go to a “results” appointment on my own, so my Mom is coming with me. Since she’s an RN and MHA she speaks medicine and will be a big help. Thanks, Mom!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. heidi permalink
    October 31, 2009 9:39 pm

    Ton’s of prayers for you! I feel very optimistic for your appt this Monday.

    Love you,
    Heidi

  2. mom permalink
    November 1, 2009 8:21 am

    Thank you for that vote of confidence. Brilliance is on your side and Gods side. And he will come through again, I am sure. Thanks Heidi for you optimism, you are wonderful too.

    Mom

  3. Resa permalink
    November 1, 2009 2:13 pm

    I ‘almost’ wrote you a note on Friday to see what you found out on Thursday, but then read the “finding out on Monday.” part. I’m sure you are much more impatient to know than I am….and DANG that you have to wait until 3:30 P.M. PST! Argh.

    The cyberknife is turning out to be a miracle of modern medicine and those numbers in the article are very encouraging indeed! Thanks for sharing it.

    Will check back tomorrow.

  4. Colleen permalink
    November 1, 2009 2:59 pm

    Jill, It is so encouraging when you read a scripture and think that is so helpful. This scripture was on our church bulletin and I want to share it with you.
    ” Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. ” Romans 15:13

    Thank you for your update and we are praying for you. Love, Colleen and Ed

  5. Deb permalink
    November 2, 2009 7:24 am

    I too feel optimistic about the CT results you’re getting today. I’ll be there with you in spirit and I’m praying for you as always. Love, Deb

  6. Lisa permalink
    November 2, 2009 8:39 am

    I’m so glad your Mom can go with you. Prayers for you both!

    And a virtual (((HUG))) too!

  7. November 2, 2009 12:12 pm

    They are sure doing miracles with medicine. We’re looking forward to hearing about superior test results today!
    xoxoxoxo

  8. Jim L permalink
    November 2, 2009 6:31 pm

    Hi Jill,

    I hope you got some more good news today. I miss having you around the office. The word on the street is that the MCAI order is actually going to go away, thus making it safe for your return.

    Take care,

    Jim

    • Jill permalink
      November 2, 2009 8:47 pm

      Oh wow! You’re going to make me keel over with surprise and joy. Truly it would be a fantastic day if that thing goes away.

  9. Deb permalink
    November 3, 2009 2:54 pm

    Don’t you just love Ralph Waldo Emerson: What lies behind us
    and what lies before us
    Are tiny matters compared to
    What lies within us.

Leave a Reply

