Skip to content

Brain scan results.

October 23, 2009

Thanks for praying! The brain scan looks good. The lesions aren’t completely gone, but they’ve shrunk by more than 50%. That’s good news. They occasionally disappear with treatment, but most often they become scar tissue; however, they still can come back and they can re-treat them, but not with as much strength as they did before, so we’ll pray that the cancer in these lesions is completely dead.

There are no new lesions in my brain. They’ll follow up the brain scan in 3 months. If new stuff shows up, they can treat it with the gamma knife again. I’d rather not do that ever again, though, so let’s pray that it never happens. Deal?

I have a CT of my torso on Thursday, October 29th and an appointment to get the results on the following Monday. This scan will tell us if the chemo is shrinking the current lesions in my lung and rib and if there’s anything new. This will also give us information about how long I’ll have to stay on chemo (6 months or 9 months) or if I need to switch chemos. Anyway, lots riding on this one, so pray for good results.

Yesterday’s chemo really slapped me down. I’m very tired today and the cough and sore throat I thought I was almost rid of seems to have worsened — no surprise with my immune system taking a huge hit from the chemo.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    October 23, 2009 4:09 pm

    I cannot tell you haw grateful I am to God that this is going positively for you. And grateful that He gave you such a fighting spirit. Thank you God.

    from your loving mother

  2. Sami permalink
    October 23, 2009 4:24 pm

    Excellent news Jill!!! 🙂 I completely concur with your mother’ comments.

    Take care!!!!

    Sami

  3. Mame permalink
    October 23, 2009 4:31 pm

    Dito, your Mom and Sami!

    A big sigh of relief from this end!

    More prayers and positive energy for you.

    Keep on fighting “Jill’s Spirit” (cue the Rocky theme song)

    Get some well needed rest and have pleasant lession free dreams.

  4. Mina permalink
    October 23, 2009 5:41 pm

    Yes!

  5. Kim permalink
    October 23, 2009 7:55 pm

    Well, if the chemo wasn’t getting you down, you could party, party, party now! And I knew it, I knew it, I knew it! I knew it was going to be a good scan! CT scans are no problemo, unless you have an allergic reaction to the trace chemical like Bill did. I can’t remember what the scan was for but shortly after the injection, his arm felt like it was on fire, and he was shaking uncontrollably. It took them a while after getting angry at him for not holding still to realize he was shocky. Anyway, just a little story. You already know about CT scans. They don’t have that BANG BANG BANG to entertain you like the MRI. 🙂
    Loads of love from here in the Great White North!
    xoxo

  6. Colleen permalink
    October 24, 2009 4:13 pm

    Jill and family,
    Ed and I are happy to hear about your scan results and will keep praying for your continued healing. God is good! Love, The Oates

  7. Kate permalink
    October 24, 2009 7:51 pm

    What excellent news!

    Continued prayers heading your way on Thursday.

    Kate & Family

  8. Lisa permalink
    October 25, 2009 12:40 pm

    Wonderful scan results! I will keep praying that the rest this week turn out to also be great news 🙂

    My Dad’s also came back clear, so feeling the power of prayer resonating.

    Always in my thoughts, prayers.. Lisa

  9. October 25, 2009 2:51 pm

    Great news. You are a rock. or is that a rockette?

  10. Debbie permalink*
    October 25, 2009 3:24 pm

    Just back from So Cal – enjoying the cooler weather. It was roasting down there. Good trip though, and a good way to return. I knew God would take of this for you. I’m counting on him to take care of the rest and give the shortest time on chemo possible. Take care.

    Love,
    Debbie

  11. Deb permalink
    October 27, 2009 5:22 pm

    Yahoo!! Hallelujah!! I’m so happy for you Jill!! I’ve been thinking about you every day but wasn’t able to go into your blog until tonight; I had a feeling all our prayers would be answered and you’d get good results. I’ll continue my prayers for your good health and for excellent results from the next scan! Hugs!! Deb

  12. Sandi permalink
    October 28, 2009 1:17 pm

    Some positive news! I’m looking forward to hearing more positive news next week.

  13. Resa permalink
    October 28, 2009 5:23 pm

    Good and encouraging news. I too, was sure that the scan would look good.

    Now, we look ahead to tomorrow.

    P.S. Aren’t you glad October is almost over?

  14. Lynn permalink
    October 29, 2009 7:27 am

    So happy to hear things are moving positively for you. Praying for you and miss our walks!

  15. October 29, 2009 8:00 am

    • Jill permalink
      October 29, 2009 9:17 am

      lol! That sums it up.

    • Jill permalink
      October 29, 2009 3:46 pm

      I think I might have seen a few of those zombies in the chemo infusion room….. In fact, might have been one of those zombies a few times!

  16. Annette permalink
    October 29, 2009 3:22 pm

    WONDERFUL!!!!!! WONDERFUL NEWS!!!

    Keep it up Girl.

Leave a Reply

