Skip to content

Strange pink products.

October 6, 2009

I’m not going to post the link because it’s R-rated and I have under-age readers. If you want the link, email me. Suffice it to say, here are some of the 15 strangest pink products posted on a comedy site: a ped egg, a roomba, a special-edition pink hunting rifle, a tomboy tools hammer, exploding roman candles, an inflatable beer pong table, a dump truck, an airplane, and pepper spray.

Perhaps I might take out some of my frustration by buying a pink roomba, letting it go on the lawn, and shooting at it with a special-edition pink hunting rifle. What do you think?

Adding to my post. Someone posted this link on another board. It says it all; for example that “National Breast Cancer Awareness Month was established 25 years ago by AstraZeneca, a pharmaceutical company that has produced breast cancer drugs including Tamoxifen and Arimidex:  http://news.cincinnati.com/article/20091012/EDIT02/910120349/1019/EDIT/Mammography+isn+t+the+cure-all+we+d+hoped+for. The most important statistic is that even though we’re now diagnosing breast cancers earlier, the number of deaths from breast cancer hasn’t changed in all these years. So, while we’re detecting it earlier (and giving those women years and years and years of additional anxiety), we’re no closer to a cure because our focus is off — mammography instead of looking into a root cause or a cure.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2009 8:10 am

    Ha ha! That reminds me of something Bill and I did years ago, and it was VERY theraputic. I ended up still having the cake topper from my first wedding after I moved to Marysville. I suppose I thought it might be a keepsake for the kids. Bill received a coffee mug from his ex right after they split up that said, “I will always love you.” This from the woman who, for the entire 19 years they were married, was never sure she wanted to stay married to him. What a completely ludicrous and bizarre gift to give, and why even give a gift to someone you just split up with? Anyway, Bill has always had guns, because he and his dad used to go elk hunting and duck hunting together. I was always very anti-gun, and whever Bill wanted to do some target shooting with the boys, I would stay in the car. One day, after a particularly bad encounter with my ex (and I can’t remember which one of us suggested this), we decided to take that cake topper (a gazebo with the little bride and groom) and that mug up to the woods and shoot them to pieces! On went the eye and ear protection, Bill gave me a safety lesson and showed me how to use the .22 pistol, we set the gazebo and the mug on top of a stump, and BANG, BANG, BANG, BANG, BANG, BANG!!!! Wow! That felt GREAT! I cut that gazebo to bits. Then Bill’s turn. BANG, BANG, BANG, BANG, BANG, BANG!!!! The mug flew to pieces. Then we set the pieces back up, and kept taking turns shooting (and we even exchanged targets) until we were good and done getting those awful things as dead as possible. So I say, “go for it!” Find something pink that annoys you and I’ll loan you my .357 magnum. Yes, I now own my own old west style pistol, and I know how to use it. 🙂

  2. Lisa permalink
    October 6, 2009 8:27 am

    I love Kim’s idea. I have before found it very therapeutic to burn stuff that annoys me or is a memory I’d rather dispose of. Kind of an ‘ashes to ashes’ coping mechanism and have encouraged many other women to give it a try, as a nice bonfire of old memories can feel wonderful 🙂

    So if you don’t want to shoot up something pink, you could burn one of the sale fliers or a dart board can work well also!

    I hope you got over your cold!

  3. mom permalink
    October 6, 2009 8:41 am

    Sorry, but in a way I am in the same “boat” trying to erase memories of my 52 year old marriage, Jill and Kim’s Dad, who died last year. I identify with your problem Jill and get rid of the pink things, I have one if you want it, an attachment to my hose so I can water the garden, came in pink (believe it or not). Prayers are with you always my daughter, get rid of the agony of a prejudice. Love you.

  4. Kerri permalink
    October 6, 2009 3:29 pm

    Hi Jill,
    I’ve been reading your blog and thought of you Sunday. I asked my dh what was wrong with our TV because the football players’ gloves were pink. You guessed it – breast cancer awareness. 🙂 If you need a gun I can fix you up. Everybody in TX has a gun. I’ll even spray paint it pink if you want.
    Praying for you!

    • October 6, 2009 8:58 pm

      Headline Rueters:

      Woman with pink rifle assasinates pink gloved baseball team, holds police at bay for 12 hours using pink pepper spray and pink roman candles, while exclaiming loudly ROOMBAROOOOOMBA…
      (and there was much rejoicing)

      • October 7, 2009 6:10 am

        Ah yes, it IS the 40th anniversary of Monty Python. I got turned into a pink newt (but I got better.) 🙂

  5. Lisa permalink
    October 7, 2009 7:33 am

    We also have a pink rodeo where I live. They call it “Tough enough to Wear Pink”…and yes, the cowboys and cowgirls all wear pink as do most of the fans on that day.

  6. Maria Murray permalink
    October 7, 2009 8:43 pm

    Very funny… just be careful with the law. A guy in Atlanta was arrested last year for shooting his lawn mower in his front yard, so you may need to go to the woods! Go for it!

  7. Cristina permalink
    October 8, 2009 12:12 pm

    Victorinox just sent me an email promoting their Susan G. Komen tie-in. They conveniently noted how much they donate to the charity. Buy a special edition Swiss Army Knife and they donate $1. Buy a SE watch and they donate 10%. And…they’ll donate a minimum of $50,000. Hmm…not all companies are so clear as to how much money will go to charities. I like the idea of the pink knife…although that uses up more energy than a pink rifle.
    Oh, by the way, the cruise line (Holland America) that I did the “Walk the Decks” on/with apparently donated $1.8 million this year. Imagine all those walkers walking 5k, donating $15 a walk…
    And imagine all the excercise that would otherwise not be done on vacation…

    • October 8, 2009 12:18 pm

      There was a story on KING TV this morning warning about all the pink products that don’t donate anything to charity. I was proud of them. They said to check out the company selling the product before buying it, or better yet: just donate cash to breast cancer research. Yeah!

  8. Jill permalink
    October 8, 2009 3:13 pm

    Good article about the pink stuff: http://www.boston.com/bostonglobe/magazine/articles/2009/10/04/sick_of_pink/?page=1

    Sitting in the enormous chemo chair right now. Fun fun fun.

    • Cristina permalink
      October 8, 2009 11:38 pm

      When I read the article I was distracted by one picture in the article. Did Mattel alter pink ribbon Barbie to make her look like a true patient? And did the box come with a blue naughlahyde (sic) chair?

      If it did, I’m sure it would meet a swift end at the edge of a pink swiss army knife. Heeyyyy, maybe that’s what you should do intead of the rifle on the Roomba… cut up one of those horrid chairs with a pink knife. Sure, they’d be upset, but they would have to reupholster it.

      I’m still laughing at Mark’s “ROOMBAROOOOMBA” comment.

  9. October 11, 2009 4:50 pm

    So here I am, old aunt pat, trying to understand blogs. I see where mumsy wrote so I must also to keep up with the hip generation. My daughter-in-law, Joelle, in the fashion business, says that PINK is the coming color. Oh My God, What Shall I Do? Following the fashion trend may get my head blown off.

  10. Bemused Boomer permalink
    October 11, 2009 7:52 pm

    Hello, wondrous Jill. Susan Moore here again. I’ve moved myself lock, stock and barrel (hey,wait–I don’t have a gun, not even a pink one!) to the desert of Southern California. I’m currently visiting my mom in the Long Beach (CA) area, land of bimbos (even the newscasters are big-bosomed in low-cut skank blouses and big earrings), blondeness, and as it turns out, copious amounts of pink stuff. Pink hardware is just wrong on SO many levels! (and don’t even get me started on the pink stuff in the 99-cent stores!)

    I can’t see that stuff any more without thinking of you, and now the image of you shooting some of it dead with a pink gun (or Kim’s big-boy gun) fills me with glee. As does the concept of your disease as “chronic.” Love it, love it. I’m hoping you’re beating that cold. Your kind of Warrior Woman is hard (and glorious) to find.

  11. Michelle permalink
    October 27, 2009 2:31 pm

    Another VERY odd pink product: http://www.amazon.com/EA-Sports-Active-Awareness-Nintendo-Wii/dp/B002Q2K6I6/ref=xs_gb_A3P50FTW4W6ERN?_encoding=UTF8&m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pfRdReplace=1

    Glad the scan results were positive. I’ll keep praying!

    • Jill permalink
      October 27, 2009 3:10 pm

      Wow! That’s a really strange one. lol

      Thanks, Michelle.

Leave a Reply

