Skip to content

Not too bad.

August 22, 2009

I actually feel kind of okay today. I was dosed only with Abraxane yesterday, and not Zometa. I received a half dose of lorazepam (anxiety/nausea drug) because last week it knocked me out for a day and half. So, I slept normally, woke at a normal time. Not bad. I get dosed with Zometa only once a month.

My red blood cell counts are slightly down, which explains the fatigue. There’s no way I know of to recover those except to stop chemo, so that’s why they give chemo three weeks on and then have you take a week off. My white cell counts are normal, so that’s good; I don’t have to worry too much about a disaster if I catch a cold.

In other news, the neighbors now have chickens, which they’ve placed fairly close to our bedroom window. So far the white noise of the summer fans has covered up their noises, but it’s a cool day today and someone has laid an egg that she’s very proud of. Let’s hope they keep the chicken pen clean.

In still other news, I received two wonderful packages from two friends — hats from Sami in Idaho and a lovely covered journal from Sarah in Australia. I don’t have a web site to show you the hats, but if Sami sends me a link, I’ll post it. She makes the hats from recycled materials and they’re amazingly soft and adorable! The journal I can’t describe, but I can show you a picture: Small Steps to Sustainability.  Search on “Moleskine Cahier Journal Cover Instructions” to see something similar to what Sarah sent. Both of these ladies are incredibly creative and generous, as well as great recyclers. Many thanks.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    August 22, 2009 11:19 am

    No rooster? I love roosters 🙂

    We have some in our neighborhood.. I love them and the guinea hens that walk the cul de sac.

    I am so glad to hear you feel pretty good today! I hope your energy returns soon. continued good thoughts..

  2. Jill permalink
    August 22, 2009 1:54 pm

    No rooster. Well, at least nobody’s crowing. All hen noises so far.

    • Deb permalink
      August 24, 2009 8:08 am

      We have a rooster next door and he crows at night – I think he’s a psychologically impaired rooster…

      Good to know things are going well so far, you’re a real trooper Missy!

      • Jill permalink
        August 24, 2009 9:12 am

        Well, I spoke too soon. I spent most of Sunday on the couch with no energy at all. I think the chemo just waits a day to zap me. Oh well!

Leave a Reply

