Skip to content

Dirt, the best medicine

August 18, 2009

We had a great time last night picking all kinds of wonderful veggies in my brother Mark’s garden — zuccini, tomatoes, tomatillos, peppers, beets, carrots, beans…. what else? Can’t remember. Oh! Fresh brown eggs from the chickens. Yummy. I zoned into a different dimension out there in the dirt and felt great for the first time in quite a while. So, thanks Mark! Organic veggies and eggs, and good old fashioned dirt. Can’t beat it.

Q had a wonderful time playing with six (wow, six!) other Cardigan Welsh Corgis, including her mother Pearl, and a few half-siblings. She’s completely exhausted. We didn’t take Rex. He looks way too much like a stinky, grumpy little sheep and would have been herded to death.

Speaking of dirt, some of you have been asking about practical needs. Our front garden/flowerbeds are getting extremely weedy again after all that rain. The boys are helpful in that area, but I have assigned them to some significant work on the house itself (which they’ll ask for help with soon if they need it). Hank’s also getting some action in the job front and has been running around quite a bit for that. Anyway, the point is that I’m usually the one who tackles the weeding, lopping, and general plant and garden maintenance. I’ve also been forbidden from staying in the sun very long because the crappy medicine (as opposed to the good old dirt) makes me sunburn easily. I can do some of the work, and direct other bits of it. The area gets full afternoon shade, which means it’s hotter then, but more possible for me to work (aka tell you what to do). So, if anyone is into an afternoon of gardening (weeding, raking, pulling out some dead plants, trimming some plants, etc.), let me know.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2009 1:01 pm

    I think that can be arranged. We have about a million things to get done before Labor Day weekend (camping with hopefully all of the kids-that hasn’t happened in years), but we love gardening!
    Another thing that hasn’t happened in years — we haven’t moved the little 4’x6′ Wells Cargo trailer out of the driveway. That’s one of our million things to do. We have to empty it out, figure out what we have, what we need, and what we don’t need, and then put it all back together. And we get to bring all the gear because (1) we have it, and (2) we have the only rig big enough to haul it. 🙂
    Then less than a week after camping, we’re driving down to California for the book-signing event, this time driving the littlest vehicle. 🙂

    • August 19, 2009 7:56 am

      Bill and I could come down there and do some yard work on Saturday, if you’ll be up to having invaders a day after chemo.
      xoxo

      • Jill permalink
        August 19, 2009 11:35 am

        Yay! See you Saturdya then.

  2. Mom permalink
    August 18, 2009 3:23 pm

    Hi

  3. Debbie permalink*
    August 19, 2009 6:58 am

    Our mom’s always said “A little dirt never hurt anyone”. Who knew they would actually be right!

    • Jill permalink
      August 19, 2009 12:30 pm

      Yup. Guess I’ll go eat worms. lol

  4. Marcia permalink
    August 19, 2009 12:10 pm

    I can’t make it Saturday, but Nhi says she wants to help me weeding (!) on Sunday — would that work for you?

    • Jill permalink
      August 19, 2009 12:23 pm

      Sunday won’t work, unfortunately. I hate to disappoint a teenager who wants to weed! I’m thinking of picking a general work day for early- or mid-September some time to help us catch up on outdoor stuff before the rains hit. I’m sure we can grow a few new weeds for Nhi to pull. I’ll figure out the work day with Hank and then post something about it.

  5. Sandi permalink
    August 20, 2009 1:03 pm

    Hi Jill! I IM’d Marcia today to find out how you were doing. Now that I’m off the ANM-114 e-mail list, I don’t get updates about you. I was glad Marcia told me about your blog.

    I’m willing to help weed on a weekend. Sign me up! Maybe, Q or Rex would like to help weed too. LOL!

    • Jill permalink
      August 20, 2009 3:18 pm

      Hi, Sandi! Glad Marcia gave you the link. I’m going to put together a work weekend soon. I’ll post about it when I figure it out. Q would help week. Rex would just be grumpy about it.

Leave a Reply

