Skip to content

Stupid purchases…. and off to chemo.

August 14, 2009

A month before my diagnosis five years ago I purchased a very nice, gold mesh electric razor. I had no use for it for a year and a half after that. A month before this current diagnosis, I purchased a very nice, miniature travel hair dryer. Go figure.

So, I have fed the cancer its breakfast of champions; enough sugar to make it stand up and tap dance. I fed it a combination of Cocoa Puffs and Lucky Charms and then gave it a piece of Belgian chocolate. I was going to top the cereal with some Skittles, but those seem to have disappeared over the course of the week. I think the cancer has plenty of sugar and is having its little party completely unaware that the next thing it’s going to eat is a good does of a nasty chemical. Bwhahahahahaha.

Chemo starts in an hour. If I’m up to it, I’ll post more later.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2009 7:51 am

    That is so weird about the purchases! It’s like the story of the man who sells his watch to buy his wife some combs, but she has sold her hair to buy him a nice chain for his watch.
    Well, you’ll need the hairdryer again eventually. 🙂
    I’m hopeful the chocolates will be just the trick to get that wily cancer out there where it can get nuked!
    Love ya!

  2. Lisa permalink
    August 14, 2009 9:56 am

    Keeping you in my prayers!!!! Oh life is so very ironic and we never know where a path will lead us..and it is often so distant from what us mere mortals think. I’d eat chocolate too and a mimosa as it would be a balanced meal 😉

  3. Mame permalink
    August 15, 2009 12:53 pm

    Hey Jill, way to go on teasing the cancer with goodies then zapping them with poison. It was like their last dinner. hee hee

    I’m all for Cancer Capital Punishment!!!! FRY those suckers!!!!!!!

    Maybe it’s a good thing that you were out of Skittles. I’m afraid that they may have caused you the Shittles.

    I hope you are feeling good today, or on the way to feeling gooder.

    Holding you close to my heart.

    xoxox
    Mame

  4. Deni Swanger permalink
    August 19, 2009 8:34 am

    Hi Jill,
    My name is Deni, and I am Deb Wilson’s sister from Utah. She wrote and asked that I put you on my prayer list.
    I went in and read your blog today, and wanted to let you know how much it touched me. What strength and humor and compassion you are sharing with everyone that reads this blog. The information you have shared to people for their overall health and things they can do to remain healthy is amazing. I just can’t put into words how amazing and beautiful I think you are.
    Facing such adversity and yet willing to share that extremely personal and private moment with all of us. What a blessing to us Jill.
    Please know how much you have helped others with your sharing and compassion.
    I send healing energy your way everyday and you our on several prayer lists all over the nation.
    God be with you… and I know he is…. and I thank you so very very much for sharing with us. If there is anything I can ever do that may help you in anyway….. please please don’t hesitate to email me.
    Love and peace to you, deni

    • Jill permalink
      August 19, 2009 11:37 am

      Deni,

      What a nice reply. Thank you so much. I appreciate your prayers.

      Jill

      • Deb permalink
        August 20, 2009 9:25 am

        Sorry I haven’t added anything to your blog site until now Jill, I’m just not a writer! ha ha Actually I’ve always believed that actions speak louder than words, yet words can be very comforting at times like this. My sister is a wonderful person, very caring a compassionate, which is why I asked her to include you in her many prayer lists. Her comments to you brought tears to my eyes because they’re so true and I couldn’t have said it better myself! Personally, the right words fail me because there are too many good things I could say about you and there just isn’t enough room to say them. So I’ll just tell you (as I do all the time) that you’re in my thoughts and prayers. Thanks for being such a good friend and an amazing person in general!! Never change that fabulous attitude because that’s what’s going to get you through this! And let me know if you need a ride to chemo anytime!! Love, Deb

Leave a Reply

