Skip to content

Words that go bump in the latrine.

August 11, 2009

My father-in-law enjoys words. He recently mentioned to us that he’s been enjoying the odd sound of the word “bump.” He encounters it and its meaning constantly now that the city has installed a speed bump and assocated “bump” sign near his home. Bump is one of those great onomatopaeic words, like clunk and pow, that just plain old fit the sound and the situation in a mighty satisfying way. I think, though, that one of his word observations I’ve enjoyed most is a whole set that sounds pretty — but ain’t.

For example, he once pointed out that if you divorce the word “Latrine” from its meaning, it’s not a bad-sounding female name. I’m sure a few women named Katrina would love to disassociate themselves from that name now. Latrine might not be a bad option.

And derriere. When you think of it as the back half of the song Londonderry Air, it’s not bad.  I can imagine someone saying, “I went shopping with my friends Latrine and Derriere last Saturday.” Maybe you can’t imagine that, but I can.

Ditto diarrhea. It’s multi-syllabic, semi-poetic, and has its own special flow.

Urine’s another that has potential. In fact, my son’s 2nd grade teacher was a Ms. Uran (pronounced Urine), who left to have a baby and was replaced for a time by a Ms. Butts. You can’t make this stuff up. Why they didn’t go by You-RAN and Boots, is beyond me, but there ya go. It wouldn’t have beeen nearly as entertaining that way.

I’m not sure my father-in-law really wants to be associated with this post. It wasn’t his idea for me to put it here. He’s been on my mind, though, because I’ve been sucking some of the family concern away lately with my diagnosis and he’s facing a serious one himself. I won’t share more here because I didn’t ask and this is very public. But please do keep him in your prayers.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2009 6:33 pm

    Asl long as Uran doesn’t run into your Bootts you’ll be fine.
    😀

  2. Mina permalink
    August 12, 2009 8:50 am

    ha ha ha! How I loved to have been a fly on the wall in that second grade class!

    Wishing you the best, thinking of you often. Big hugs and lots of prayers your way.

  3. August 12, 2009 10:08 am

    Hey, Jill, I’ve always loved the sense of humor in your writing. You can now create a page to link to the chapter you wrote for Be the Star You Are! for TEENS! Check out http://www.bethestaryouare.com/Contributors.html.

    • jillsblahblahblog permalink
      August 12, 2009 10:54 am

      Oh! I hadn’t seen that page yet. For some reason your link didn’t work, I think because there’s a period in it, but people can just copy and paste http://www.bethestaryouare.com/Contributors.html without the period. I’ll have to create a “writings” page. Good idea.

  4. Mame permalink
    August 12, 2009 5:52 pm

    I always thought that Uretha Franklin should have gotten a little more r.e.s.p.e.c.t!

    Good thoughts for your FIL.

    • jillsblahblahblog permalink
      August 12, 2009 6:08 pm

      It’s a little scary that it took me more than a couple of seconds to get that. 8)

  5. August 12, 2009 7:51 pm

    Hi – I saw you had started a blog and wanted you to know I’m thinking of you. I think you were one of my first pen pals back when Famville was part of the pen pal site – remember?

    blessings – dori (FAM)

    • Jill permalink
      August 22, 2009 9:30 am

      Hi, Dori! Of course I remember you.

  6. Denise permalink
    August 13, 2009 7:17 am

    We were just talking about names last night and a teacher friend said she had a student named Latrina. So there you go, Jill. Suddenly, “Denise” sounds pretty okay.

    • Jill permalink
      August 22, 2009 9:32 am

      Denise is a great name. Latrina…. Hmmm. Well. Someone I know told me that she worked in a maternity hospital where they had to persuade one family that the name Regina (with a long I) has an R at the beginning rather than a V…. If that family had chosen a home birth life might have gone very badly for that poor baby girl.

  7. Lisa permalink
    August 13, 2009 9:39 am

    This was hilarious and makes me a bit grateful for my really ‘normal’ and too common name of Lisa. Many good thoughts!

  8. Kate permalink
    August 22, 2009 9:03 am

    Hey, I am just catching up on the blog and laughed out loud while reading this post!

    I too had a student named LaTreena and the next year her sister MaSheena. You can change the spelling but it still sounds pretty humorous!

    • Jill permalink
      August 22, 2009 9:28 am

      What were the parents thinking? Or maybe they weren’t…. Yikes!

Leave a Reply

