Skip to content

Another email — more diagnostic news

August 9, 2009

This is more news I sent to my email support group, dated July 14, 2009. We hadn’t done the brain scan yet…

I started off the day by hearing from the surgeon that the best study she can find is that people in similar situations, but with just lung involvement, have a 45% chance of surviving 5 years. This is when I burst into tears. Apparently she thought that was a good statistic, but I find it terrifying. The rib involvement of course takes that statistic down a few percentage points — probably quite a bit.

Skip forward to the afternoon with the oncologist. He sounded more hopeful and reminded me that a 50/50 chance is darn good with cancer. Not good enough for me, though. Also, there are lots of new treatments since 2001. Unfortunately, since I have triple negative breast cancer (http://www.tnbcfoundation.org/understandingtnbc.htm), many of those treatments are focused elsewhere.

So, the next step is a brain scan on Friday to see if this has also spread to my brain. Pray that it doesn’t because the outlook is extremely grim in that case.

After that I have surgery on Wednesday the 22nd to remove the tumor in my lung. I’ll be in the hospital for 3 days and recovering at home for 2 weeks. After that I’ll meet with the oncologist again who will have all final-final-final pathologies and we’ll set a course of treatement, which means some kind of chemo. That will likely take 3 to 4 months at which time they’ll remove the rib and take a look at it. That will tell them if the chemo is working on these particular cells or if we need to do something else.

I have a second opinion with a different oncologist scheduled for August 14.

I’m not feeling particularly hopeful or positive, and I’m just weird enough to be supersitious and think that will make a difference. Will someone please help me out there? I don’t know how….

One Comment leave one →
  1. Mame permalink
    August 9, 2009 7:19 pm

    Hey Jill!

    Love your blog!

    Aunt Jo Ann is a wise woman. Seems tenacity runs in the family! 🙂

    In your corner,
    Mame

Leave a Reply

