Skip to content

A letter from my Aunt Jo Ann.

August 9, 2009

Jo Ann is my mother’s sister. She lives in Colorado and isn’t plugged in online, so when I hear from here it’s in the form of an old-fashioned hand-written letter — always encouraging and beautifully written. The lastest from her is, as usual, fantastic, and incredibly encouraging.

August 3, 2009

Dear Jill,

I am so sorry to hear about your illness. If there was an easy way for you, I would give it to you as a gift. Since I was a little girl, God has always been my strength. At age 4 I was diagnosed with Rheumatoid Arthritis. For six years I was on medication. Even though I was only 4, I prayed to God to be with  me. At age 10, I thought I was healed. In 1967 the diagnosis was back. I cried for days because I had a 10-year-old and a 13-year-old. All I could see was myself in a wheelchair, crippled and not able to care for my family.

Again, I asked God for help. My help came from new mediciations and treatments. Every time one med didn’t work another one would come out on the market. Sometimes the side effects were worse than the pain. Many times I needed surgery to keep on functioning. There were times that I had to fake it just to do what I needed or wanted to do, especially in nursing school.

I am only telling you this story because I don’t want you to give up. Let God wrap you in His arms and surround you with His light. He will send you many angels, you just need to look for them. You are God’s child and He loves you.

I love you!

Aunt Jo Ann

There is a reason why you are on this earth.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2009 8:06 pm

    Here’s another nice letter, this one from one of your students. I thought it would be good to have it here.

    “Thank you for alerting me to Mrs. Byington’s illness; I would not have known otherwise. She is a wonderful lady and has been a great influence upon my life.
    -Justin Murray”

  2. August 17, 2009 8:34 am

    Over the weekend, I received this note from a friend and long-time bookkeeping client:

    Kim,
    Just a note to let you know I’ve been praying for your sister & that God would heal her. I’ve been praying God will keep you strong for her. Thank you for the kindness you show me in helping me with our books. You’re a great person.
    Thank you & remember God won’t give us more than we can handle.
    Love ya,
    Lanna

Leave a Reply

