Skip to content

How to make beets taste good.

August 9, 2009

My sister Debbie, knowing that I’m supposed to be adding beets to my diet, searched the term “how to make beets taste good” and came up with this recipe: Beet Salad with Goat Cheese. It has beets. It has goats. What else could you want?

We had it last night. It’s great!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2009 9:58 am

    How about creating a section for recipes? Here is one for carrot soup. I know you don’t like beets ( and I share the sentiment.) I just don’t like cooked carrots, but this sounds wonderful. You could also do this with squash or yams or pumpkin as well, I should think. I would substitute plain yogurt for the cream. Makes more sense to get nutrition out of your dairy products instead of just fat.
    http://www.recipezaar.com/Carrot-Orange-Soup-9144

  2. jillsblahblahblog permalink
    August 10, 2009 2:57 pm

    Yummy. Great idea about the recipe category. Adding….

  3. August 10, 2009 7:12 pm

    I have some beets in the garden, a small long variety that looks a little raddishlike, they taste like candy raw. (I’m not much for them cooked either) Plus as an added bonus, they make your tongue purple (and anything else they contact)
    You can have a bunch if you want 🙂

  4. August 10, 2009 9:45 pm

    I think I’d rather poke needles in my eyes.

    db

  5. Lisa permalink
    August 11, 2009 6:08 pm

    I love beets! Call me weird 😉 I enjoy pickled beets quite a bit and with some spinach and feta cheese it is a delicious salad.

  6. Mame permalink
    August 15, 2009 1:22 pm

    Hey Jill, I have a good name for this recipe of Goat Cheese and Beets. “Bleets”

    In Jeopardy style:

    Bleeeeeeeeeeet.

    What would a goats would say his favourite vegetarian dish is?

    Back to my time out, for 200, Alex.

  7. August 17, 2009 11:07 am

    Here’s a twist on the old 3-bean salad that I found on the internet, and made this weekend.

    “Campfire Salad”

    Blanch some asparagus and some green beans (I don’t measure anything; sorry.) [Blanching is boiling the item for a couple of minutes, then plunging it into ice water to set the color.]

    Drain and rinse a can of black beans. Put them, and some shredded carrots (Bill found a bag of already-shredded ones for me) and the green beans into a mixing bowl. Toss with viniagrette and some fresh, chopped oregano. The recipe called for scallions, too, but I used chopped red onion. You can toss the asparagus with vinaigrette, too, if you want.

    Put a scoop of the mixed stuff on a plate, and arrange the asparagus in a teepee shape over it, then drizzle with more vinaigrette, if needed.

    It supposed to look like the black beans are coals, the carrots are flames, the green beans are logs, and so is the asparagus, in the shape of an a-frame of logs on a fire. Cute, and tasty. We had that with lobster tails, oysters, and white rice.

    The next morning, I took the leftover asparagus, cut it in pieces, and tossed it in a frying pan with some no-stick spray to heat it through, then added the rest of the red onions, and the leftover rice. Meanwhile, I whisked up 4 eggs with a little (soy) milk and salt & pepper. I poured the eggs over the veggies and rice, sorta gently mixed it all around to coat everything, then put a top on the pan and waited until the eggs were set. Cut it like a pie to serve. This is called a fritatta. I have a helluva time digesting eggs, so it was a risky breakfast, but I didn’t get too uncomfortable or crampy. So I call that successful.

    Did I mention we cooked all of this food outside? Friday night we didn’t have power at the RV site where we parked the van for the night, so we cooked on propane. They replaced the breaker and outlet Saturday morning, so I was able to cook the fritatta on an electric burner. If I’d had to cook that over propane, I’d have had to just make scrambled eggs.

    Anyway, this saved us from having to eat restaurant food! Always the best choice for my intestines.
    xoxo

  8. Resa permalink
    October 17, 2009 8:58 pm

    I too am a beet lover. I didn’t plant any this year and had to get them from the local Hutterrites. Probably a good thing becuase I probably would have planted 5 rows of them like i planted five rows of carrots….that was about 400 pounds of carrots.

    I think carrots are probably easier to get rid of than beets….and I still have about 60 lbs to unload…

Leave a comment